Sydney University Water Polo aims to provide all age groups a safe and positive environment to play Water Polo.

The club offers teams for boys and girls as young as U12 through to Open teams. The club offers a pathway to State and National participation and recreational Water Polo competition. It provides specialist coaching for skill development and the opportunity to travel to local and international competition. SUWP has had several State and Australian representatives past and present.

Players who are proficient swimmers are encouraged to play.

The Australian Waterpolo League (AWL) formerly known as the National League is Australia’s premier domestic water polo competition. Ten clubs compete in the annual league which comprises of both a men’s and women’s competition.

The national league started in 1990 as a Men’s competition and in 2004 the women’s competition started. The Sydney University teams entered the league in 1990 (Men) and 2004 (Women). The SUWP teams have had and continue to be very successful in this competition. Highlights below:

Sydney Uni Lions Men’s Highlights:

  • National Champions – 2018 (undefeated), 2005, 2003 and 2002
  • Silver medalists – 2023, 2017, 2015
  • Bronze medalists – 2016, 2014
  • Finalists – 2021, 2019
  • Southern Cross Trophy (Minor Premiership) winners – 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015
  • Peter Kerr Trophy (Club Champions) recipients – 2023, 2018, 2017, 2016

Sydney Uni Lions Women’s Highlights:

  • National Champions – 2023, 2017 (first undefeated team in League history) and 2016
  • Silver medalists – 2018, 2015
  • Bronze medalists – 2014
  • Finalists – 2021, 2019
  • Southern Cross Trophy (minor premiership) winners – 2017
  • Peter Kerr Trophy (Club Champions) recipients – 2023, 2018, 2017, 2016

To find out more about the SUWP club, explore our website here and follow us on social media for the latest club updates.