Board of Directors

  1. Home
  2. Board of Directors

Current Membership of the Board

Jane Spring AM

Non-Executive Director and Chair
Jane is Chair of the NSW Disability Council, Chair of the Australian Disability Advisory Council,  Director of Royal Rehab and a Board Member of Venues NSW. Jane is a Vice President of the NSW Institute of Public Administration and a Member of Chief Executive Women. Jane is also Co-Chapter Leader NSW of Minerva Network; responsible for the Maybanke Fund a charity within the Sydney Community Foundation; and a member of the NSW Office of Sport Audit & Risk Committee.
Previous non-executive roles include University of Sydney Senate,
Western Sydney Local Health District, Paraplegic Benefit Fund, Combat Sports Authority and Wheelchair Sports Australia.
Recent executive roles include Assistant Commissioner NSW Public Service Commission, Deputy CEO of Jobs for NSW and Acting CEO, NSW Institute of Sport.
Jane has degrees in Economics (Honours), Law and a Masters in Public Administration; is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors; Fellow of the Governance Institute; an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration; and an Honorary Fellow of Sydney University.

Warwick Lynch

Non-Executive Director and Chair of the FAR Committee
Warwick Lynch has 35 years finance experience in professional accounting and commercial media companies with 15 years as a Chief Financial Officer of listed and Private Equity held businesses.
Warwick is a Fellow of The Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and has a Bachelor of Business degree, majoring in accounting. His work experience has been with Ernst & Young, Chrysalis PLC (a London based media company), Seven Network, Seven West Media and he is currently based in London as Group Chief Financial Officer of EMG / Gravity Media, an Outside Broadcast and Production business headquartered in France. At Sydney University Sport & Fitness Limited Warwick is Chairman of the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.

Simone Whetton

Non-Executive Director and Deputy Chair
Simone Whetton completed a Bachelor of Economics/Law at the University of Sydney.
Currently, Simone is a partner at national law firm Colin Biggers & Paisley having practiced for over 20 years as a corporate lawyer. Simone holds several board positions, including Chair of Sydney based physical theatre company Leg on the Wall, Deputy Chair of Griffin Theatre Company, a Director of the German Australian Chamber of Industry and Commerce, Deputy Chair of the Sydney Eisteddfod and Director of Grata Fund.

Mike Wiseman

Non-Executive Director
Mike Wiseman completed a Bachelor of Civil Engineering (Honours) at the University of Sydney and is a 2x Sportsman of the Year, Blue of the Year and Sydney University Boat Club Life Member.
Mike has over 20 years’ experience in real estate and has performed a number of roles at board level including Chair of real estate development joint ventures with major institutional partners and mixed use Stratum/Strata Committees.

Milton Samios

Non-Executive Director
Milton recently completed a 30 year career in Investment Banking. He started his journey at the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, spent 7 years at Macquarie Bank, and then joined Investec Bank where he stayed for more than 20 years. His last role at Investec was CEO of Investec Australia Limited and Country Head for Investec Bank Plc (Australia Branch). Almost half of his career was spent overseas – principally in Malaysia, Hong Kong, the UK, and South Africa. Whilst a large part of his career was spent in derivative trading, for the last 10 years he has managed teams in Advisory, Corporate Lending, Property Funds, Resource Finance, Treasury, and Venture Capital. Milton was a director of Investec Australia Holdings and many of its subsidiaries. He was also chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee and was a member of its Credit, Investment, and Risk committees. He is now retired from banking and is focusing on NFPs and community initiatives

Sarah Verne

Non-Executive Director 
Sarah Verne completed Bachelor of Arts (Hons), in Psychology, at the University of Sydney, and holds a Master of Business in International Marketing from UTS.
Before moving to the not-for-profit sector, Sarah had almost 20 years of consumer marketing and strategy experience with multinational companies Procter & Gamble, Coca-Cola and Weight Watchers. Over the last decade she has worked in both a volunteer and paid capacity with Lifeline.
Sarah was awarded a dual Gold Award for service to the SUWSA and Rowing.

Andrew Purchas OAM

Non-Executive Director 
Andrew Purchas OAM completed a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Economics at the University of Sydney and was awarded a University Blue for rowing.
Andrew has almost three decades of experience as a senior executive in technology, legal and financial services.  Including Chief Security Officer – Westpac Banking Corporation, Commercial Director at HIVERY and Senior Associate with Corrs Chambers Westgarth. He has a number of board roles including, Vice President of ACON Health and Chair of its finance and audit committee
Andrew is founder of the Syndey Convicts Rugby Club, co-founder of the Pride in Sports Index and was President of the Bingham Cup Sydney 2014 and Chairman of International Gay Rugby.

Lucy Mauviel

Non-Executive Director (Student NED) 
Lucy Mauviel completed a Bachelor of Science (Physiology) and is currently studying a Doctor of Medicine, both at the University of Sydney.
Lucy has been a member of the SUSF Elite Athlete Program since 2020 and was awarded a University Blue for Athletics in 2022, having competed in Athletics for over 10 years’, four of which have been at the Sydney University Athletics Club. She is also involved in SUSF social sports including Netball and Touch.

Andrew Sierakowski

Non-Executive Director (Student NED) 
Andrew Sierakowski completed a Bachelor of Commerce and is currently completing his Masters of Business Administration, both at the University of Sydney.
Andrew has represented the Sydney University Australian National Football Club for the past eight years and is a current member of the SUSF elite athlete program.