Golden days for SUBC at NSW Rowing Championships

  1. Home
  2. Sport
  3. Golden days for SUBC at NSW Rowing Championships

Sydney University Boat Club members spent plenty of time on the medal dais at the three-day NSW Rowing Championships held at the Sydney International Regatta Centre. SUBC rowers came away with eight gold, seven silver and seven bronze medals, with female rowers claiming five of the golds. 

Tara Rigney opened the gold medal count with a win in the Women’s Elite Single Scull. She finished the 2000m course in 7:29.39, with Melbourne University’s Amanda Bateman collecting silver in 7:36.11 and Queensland University’s Ria Thompson the bronze in 7:36.11. SUBC’s Rowena Meredith finished 6th in the event.

Georgia Miansarow made it a scull double for SUBC, winning the Women’s Lightweight Single Scull in 7:50.45 from Sydney’s Grace Sypher (7:53.64) and SUBC’s Lucy Coleman (7:57.28). SUBC’s Annelise Isaacs finished 7th in the event.

Sydney University also claimed gold in the Women’s Elite Under 21 Eight, with Phoebe TealeLily GavanMadeline VaggSopia WightmanSteffie PrellerOlivia NatteyRomy CantwellTiffany Botha and coxswain Elizabeth Bolster finishing the course in 7:27.15) from Melbourne University (7:29.08) and Mercantile (7:40.43).

And SUBC’s Tara Rigney teamed with Melbourne University’s Amanda Bateman to claim gold in the Women’s Elite Double Scull in 8:06.08 from SUBC’s Harriet Hudson who teamed with Queensland University’s Ria Thompson for silver (8:12.89). SUBC’s Rowena Meredith teamed with Queensland University’s Caitlin Cronin to earn the bronze (8:16.04).

SUBC’s Lucy Coleman teamed with ANU’s Anneka Readon to claim gold in the Women’s Elite Lightweight Double Scull in 7:31.66 from the Sydney/Sydney University pair of  Grace Sypher and Georgia Miansarow, with the ANU-Huon pair picking up the bronze. 

Gold also came SUBC’s way in the Men’s Elite Coxless Four, with the Sydney University Composite-National Training Centre (NTC) crew of William O’ShannessyBen CanhamAngus Widdicombe and Jackson Kench completing the course in 6:09.23 from Melbourne University Composite-NTC (6:10.83) and Melbourne University/Mercantile (6:12.90).

SUBC’s Hamish Danks won gold in the Men’s Under 21 Single Scull with a time of 7:15.84, with the University of Queensland’s Drew Weightman taking silver in 7:18.95 and Toowong’s Mitchell Bridge claiming the bronze in 7:19.40.

And SUBC’s Spencer Turrin and Alex Purnell collected gold in the Men’s Elite Pair in 6:28.41, from Sydney University/Adelaide University pair of Jack Hargraeves and Joshua Hill (6:29.47) and Sydney University’s Jackson Kench and William O’Shannessy (6:31.38).

Silver medals for SUBC rowers came in the Women’s Under 23 Pair (Zoe McKellar and Emily Sheppard), the Women’s Under 21 Single Scull (Zoe Bond), the Women’s Elite Lightweight Double Scull (Grace Sypher and Georgia Minasarow), the Men’s Elite Pair (Sydney University/Adelaide University pair of Jack Hargreaves and Alex Hill), the Men’s Elite Double Scull (Sydney University/Tamar pair of David Watts and Henry Youl), the Women’s Elite Coxless Four (Jean MitchellMimi TuddenhamPaige Barr and Georgie Gleeson) and the Women’s Elite Double Scull with the (Sydney University/Queensland University pairing of Ria Thompson and Harriet Hudson).

SUBC’s bronze medals came in the Men’s Elite Pair (Jackson Kench and William O’Shannessy), the Women’s Lightweight Single Scull (Lucy Coleman), the Women’s Under 21 Lightweight Single (Phoebe Teale), the Women’s Under 21 Pair (Freya Neville and Steffie Preller), the Women’s Under 21 Eight (Phoebe TealeLily GavanMadeline VaggSophia WightmanSteffie PrellerOlivia NatteyTiffany Botha and coxswain Elizabeth Bolster), the Men’s Elite Coxless Four (William O’ShannessyBen CanhamAngus Widdicombe and Jackson Kench) and the Women’s Elite Double Scull (Sydney University/Queensland University pairing of Rowena Meredith and Caitlin Cronin).