Students off to a mixed start

  1. Home
  2. Sport
  3. Students off to a mixed start

Sydney First XI came to campus and conquered in the opening round of the 2021-22 NSW Premier cricket season – a Limited Overs round.

Having dismissed hosts Sydney University for 201 in 48.5 of their allotted 50 overs, Sydney lost five wickets in posting 204 in just 37.2 overs.

Batting at No.3, Max Rodgers led the way with an unbeaten 79 off 76 balls. He cracked seven boundaries and a six.

Rodgers put on a 66-run stand with opener Ryan Felsch (53 off 42 balls) and an 84-run stand with No.4 Beau McClintock (31 off 38 balls). Ryan McElduff (3-29) was the best of the Sydney University trundlers.

The Students had won the toss and batted first but found themselves 5-76 when skipper Liam Robertson entered the fray. He steadied the ship with 51 off 88 balls. Late contributions of 24 from Dugald Holloway and 23 from McElduff edged Sydney University past 200, a target Sydney chased down with five players going home without a hit.

Sydney University fared better in the Second Grade fixture played at Sydney’s home ground, Drummoyne Oval.

Having won the toss and batted, the Students racked up 8-229 thanks to solid contributions from No.2 Ravi Wilramanayake (51), No.4 Ryan Danne (48 not out) and opener Charles Litchfield (42).

The University’s five-man bowling attack then held Sydney to 210 for the loss of seven wickets, with Henry Clarke (3-35), Kieran Tate (1-33), Max Hope (1-36) and Luka Flanagan (2-54) leading the way. 

The 2021-22 competition began with just the First and Second grades. Third, Fourth and Fifth grades will start their competitions next Saturday, with all grades playing Fairfield-Liverpool.

The Poidevin-Gray Shield will commence on November 21.

The Sydney Women’s Premier competition will commence next Sunday, November 14, with University First Grade hosting Campbelltown-Camden at David Phillips Memorial Fields.


NSW Premier Cricket 2021-22 – Round 1 (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Sydney 5-204 off 37.2 overs (Matthew Rodgers 79 not out, Ryan Felsch 53, Beau McClintock 31; Ryan McElduff 3-29) defeated Sydney University 201 off 48.5 overs (Liam Robertson 51, Dugald Holloway 24, Ryan McElduff 23; Ryan Felsch 4-37, Alex Glendenning 2-30, Jack Nisbett 2-32) by five wickets at Sydney University Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney 6, Sydney University 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 8-229 off 50 overs (Ravi Wikramanayake 51, Ryan Danne 48 not out, Charles Litchfield 42, Max Hope 37; Cian Mullen 3-47, Thomas Mullen 2-24) defeated Sydney 7-210 off 50 overs (Thomas Mullen 99, Daniel Smith 38; Henry Clark 3-35; Luka Flannigan 2-54, Kieran Tate 1-33, Max Hope 1-36) by 19 runs at Drummoyne Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Sydney 0.