2019 Blues of the Year write a new chapter

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. 2019 Blues of the Year write a new chapter

The University of Sydney Blue & Gold tradition expresses the ongoing importance of sports within the life of the University.

The Blue is the highest sporting honour at the University of Sydney. It is earned by sportsmen and women who are studying at the University of Sydney, competing in the highest level of sporting competition and have attained outstanding achievement. Golds are awarded to individuals who have provided outstanding service in the field of sports administration within Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness (SUSF) or one of its clubs.

Successful nominees gain the right to wear their prized jacket, in the traditional stripes of ‘Blue & Gold’, at all future events.

Congratulations to our SUSF 2019 Blue and Gold Inductees.

Sydney Uni Athletics Club superstar Nicola McDermott and swimming sensation William Yang were named the women’s and men’s Sydney University Blues of the Year at the annual awards dinner in the McLaurin Hall on December 6th.

McDermott was awarded the Alison Hattersley Trophy for Female Blue of the Year after she recorded a Tokyo qualifier with a PB of 1.96m in an outstanding year where she finished first in meets including the Folksam Grand Prix Sollentuna Sweden, Sydney Track Classic, Perth Track Classic and the Unisport Nationals.

She also claimed third place in the Monaco Diamond League meeting, widely regarded as one of the top three athletics meets in the world, with a leap of 1.94m. McDermott is the number three-ranked Australian High Jumper of all-time with her best of 1.96m.

Yang, who has his eyes set on qualifying for the 2020 Olympic Games, Yang, had a breakout season, winning gold in the 50m butterfly at the World Uni Games.

He made a name for himself at the Australian Championships, beating the renowned Mitch Larkin in the 50m backstroke to sit on top of the podium.

Good luck to both athletes on their Olympic quests next year!

2019 Blues

James Armstrong – Rugby Union

Talia Barnet-Hepples – Rowing

Rebecca Bennett – Athletics

Erin Blundell – Athletics

Holly Caspers – Soccer

Sienna Doolan – Snow

Jordan Duff – Rowing

Matthew Fisher – Athletics

Adam Gulden – Australian Rules Football

Isobel McCalman – Netball

Nicola McDermott – Athletics

Charlotte McLean – Soccer

Harry Potter – Rugby Union

Kieran Riach – Rowing

Tara Rigney – Rowing

Jessie Stafford – Athletics

Oliver Thompson – Snow

James Traiforos – Swimming

Carla Trimboli – Soccer

Tori Tumeth – Soccer

Jake Vrahnos – Rugby League

Sarah Wellfare – Swimming

William Yang – Swimming