Sydney University dominates day one

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Sydney University dominates day one

Sydney University will be pushing for outright points against UNSW when play resumes in the battle of the campuses at David Phillips South on Saturday.

Having dismissed UNSW for 133, Sydney University went to stumps at 1-151, with Damien Mortimer (62 not out) and Ryan McElduff (59 not out) in ominous touch, having put on 112 for the first wicket.

Opener McElduff has crafted his runs from 123 balls, with seven boundaries, while No.1 Mortimer rattled up his 62 from 83 balls, with half a dozen boundaries.

Sydney University skipper Liam Robinson won the toss and decided to give the hosts first use of the David Phillips wicket. It proved to be a wise move with quicks Joe Kershaw (4-33), Dugald Holloway (2-25) and Ben Joy (2-32) enjoying the conditions.

With the in-form Robinson and Hayden Kerr yet to bat, Sydney University will be pushing for a 10-point result on Saturday.

Eastern Suburbs head the Belvidere Cup ladder on 37 points, with Sydney University (27), UTS North Sydney (26), Randwick-Petersham (25), Bankstown (25) and Sydney (24) making up the top six.

The news wasn’t so good on Sunday, when Parramatta defeated the Students by 15 runs in a must-win Twenty20 clash at Merrylands Oval.

Parramatta opener Ben Abbott took the long handle to the Sydney University attack, cracking 115 off just 59 deliveries as the hosts rattled up 7-204 off their 20 overs.

Abbott hit 13 boundaries and seven sixes in his quick-fire stay at the crease. Sydney University replied with 6-189, with opener Hayden Kerr’s 86 off 40 balls including 10 boundaries and six over the fence.

His five innings in the Twenty20 competition produced 370 runs at 92.2.

The loss saw Sydney University miss a berth in the preliminary finals of the competition.




NSW Premier competition – Round 7 (Two-Day matches)

First Grade: Sydney University 1-151 off 41 overs (Damien Mortimer 62 not out, Ryan McElduff 59 not out; Declan White 1-19) versus UNSW 133 off 53 overs (Suthangan Thanabalasingam 44 not out, Michael Burgess 30; Joe Kershaw 4-33, Dugald Holloway 2-25, Ben Joy 2-32) stumps, day one at David Phillips South on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: UNSW.


Second Grade: UNSW 4-102 off 37 overs (Benedict Geddes 62 not out, Vishwas Saini  25; Charlie Cassell 2-21) versus Sydney University 241 off 58.1 overs (Joshua Joseph 67, David Miller 64, Brodie Frost 50; Sanjit Selverajoo 5-52) stumps, day one at Sydney University Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first:  Sydney University.


Third Grade: UNSW 4-18 off 11 overs (Henry Clark 2-4) versus Sydney University 170 off 67 overs (Oliver Zannino 56, Matthew Powys 40; Akash Biradar 4-15, Mitchell Law 3-43) stumps, day one at David Phillips North on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. 


Fourth Grade: UNSW 7-113 off 53 overs (Charles Williams 36 not out; Rex Greaves 3-59, Jazz Rinka 2-15) versus Sydney University, stumps, day one at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: UNSW. Batted first: UNSW.


Fifth Grade: UNSW 1-93 off 28 overs (Daniel Sui 50 not out) versus Sydney University 159 off 49.3 overs (Zohirul Islam 64; Rhys Burinaga 3-21, Cheran Ganesan 3-51) stumps, day one at Alexandria Park on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University  6.



Twenty20 Cup – Round 9

Parramatta 7-204 off 20 overs (Ben Abbott 115; Charlie Cassell 3-30, Dugald Holloway 2-42) defeated Sydney University 6-189 off 20 overs (Hayden Kerr 86, Damien Mortimer 35, Tim Cummins 25 not out; Owen Simonsen 2-33) by 15 runs at Merrylands Oval on Sunday. Toss: Parramatta. Batted first: Parramatta. Points: Parramatta 3, Sydney University 0.

NSW Women’s Premier competition – Round 3 (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Northern District 4-267 off 50 overs (Anika Learoyd 64 not out, Sarah Turner 52, Alisha Bates 50, Kirsten Smith 45 not out; Zoe Benjamin 2-40) defeated Universities 8-251 off 50 overs (Olivia Porter 74, Bess Heath 72; Abbey Taylor 4-39) by 16 runs at David Phillips South on Sunday. Toss: Northern District. Batted first: Northern District. Points: Northern District 6, Universities 0.


Second Grade: Northern District 1-114 off 29.2 overs (Caitlin Galeano 65 not out; Aarya Shipurkar 1-10) defeated Universities 7-111 off 50 overs (Darshana Kannan 26; Claire McGuirk 2-9, Elizabeth Coper-Jones 2-27) by nine wickets at Mark Taylor Oval on Sunday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Universities. Points: Northern District 6, Universities 0.


Third Grade (Round 4):  St George-Sutherland 1-119 off 15.4 overs (Catherine Wilson 52 ret not out, Stephanie Gillett 31, Ella Briscoe  30 not out; Emily Cooksey 1-18) defeated Universities 77 off 36.1 overs (Nicola Wheeler 27; Ella Briscoe 4-8, Lauren Bissett 3-14) by nine wickets at Gifford Park on Saturday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Universities. Points: St George-Sutherland 6, Universities 0.