A sparkling century from Liam Robertson helped Sydney University to a 36-run win over Parramatta at University Oval on Saturday, moving the Students to outright second on the Belvidere Cup ladder.

Robertson cracked 133 from 102 balls – his sixth century for SUCC – which included 11 boundaries and five sixes as Sydney University posted 8-284 off their 50 overs.

Damien Mortimer (46), Nick Larkin (39) and Ryan McElduff (22) also came to the party, while Jacob Workman (2-37) delivered an economical 10 overs for the visitors.

Parramatta were in with a chance while No.3 Nicholas Bertus was at the crease, but when he departed for 109 with the score on 248 and No.11 Bradley Taylor was run out from the first ball he faced it was all over.

Since first playing for SUCC in the 2009-10 season, Robertson has amassed 6441 runs at 29.55. He has now scored 628 (including the Twenty20 Cup) in all forms at 57.09 this season, while his 439 runs in the 2019-20 Belvidere Cup competition come with an average of 73.17.

The win saw Sydney University move to second on the Belvidere Cup ladder. Undefeated Eastern Suburbs head the table on 37 points, with Sydney University (27), UTS North Sydney (26), Randwick-Petersham (25), Bankstown (25) and Sydney (24) making up the top six.

In stark contrast, the winless Sydney University Seconds are 19th on the Albert Cup ladder, while Third Grade head the Mitchell Cup ladder. Fourths are third on the Reid Cup ladder and Fifths are 11th on the David Sherwood Cup ladder.

Round 7 will feature the battle of the campuses when UNSW host Sydney University in a two-day fixture at David Phillips South.



NSW Premier competition – Round 6 (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Sydney University 8-284 off 50 overs (Liam Robertson 133, Damien Mortimer 46, Nick Larkin 39, Ryan McElduff 22; Jacob Workman 3-37, Luke Dempsey 2-48) defeated Parramatta 248 off 46.5 overs (Nicholas Bertus 109, Luke Dempsey 31, Adam Turrell 28; William Masojada 3-55, Hayden Kerr 2-34, Ben Joy 2-47) by 36 runs at University Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Parramatta 0.


Second Grade: Parramatta 6-252 off 50 overs (Brenton Cherry 68, Alex Ayres 47, Harrison King 39, Zach Johns 31; Lewis McMahon 3-62) defeated Sydney University 8-240 off 50 overs (Charlie Dummer 62, Varun George 60, Nicholas Walker 29, Joshua Joseph 26 not out; Donal Whyte 3-46, Owen Simonsen 2-44) by 12 runs on Old King’s Oval Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Parramatta. Points: Parramatta 6, Sydney University 0.


Third Grade: Sydney University 9-214 off 50 overs (Jack Hill 45, Ben Mitchell 40, Charles Litchfield 24; Blair Overton 3-49, Matthew Drinnan 2-37) defeated Parramatta 80 off 25.4 overs (Evan Pitt 20; Ben Mitchell 5-19, Henry ?Clark 2-13, Sam Wood 2-21) by 135 runs, with a bonus point, at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: Parramatta. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 7, Parramatta 0.


Fourth Grade: Parramatta 2-141 off 25 overs (Christopher Bateup 39 not out, Shanuk Karandeniya 39, Matthew Hurst 28 not out, Jackson Bentvelzen 23) defeated 139 off 43 overs (Liam Coelho 33, Matthew Powys 29; Luke Giumelli 3-21, Campbell Blue 3-20) by eight wickets, with a bonus point, at Merrylands Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Parramatta 7, Sydney University 0.


Fifth Grade: Sydney University 5-203 off 47.3 overs defeated Parramatta 200 off 50 overs at Camperdown Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Parramatta. Points: Sydney University  6, Parramatta 0.



Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 4 (Limited Overs)

Sydney University 2-105 off 17.2 overs (Matthew Moran 52 not out, William Masojada 33 not out; Tom Brooks 1-16) defeated Western Suburbs 102 off 19.3 overs (Kane Truman 26, Tanvir Singh 25; Charlie Cassell 4-17, William Masojada 2-17, Ben Mitchell 2-23) by eight wickets at University Oval on Sunday. Toss: Western Suburbs. Batted first: Western Suburbs. Points: Sydney University 6, Northern District 0.



Metropolitan Cup competition – Round 7 (Limited Overs)


North-West Sydney 9-182 off 27 overs (Ekhpelwak Kuchey 72, Tharindu Wanigathunga 26 not out) defeated Sydney University 125 off 27 overs (Alexander Smith 3-11, Mark Campbell 3-29) by 57 runs at Castlewood Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: North-West Sydney. Points: North-West Sydney 6, Sydney University 0.



NSW Women’s Premier competition – Round 2 (Limited Overs)

Second Grade: Manly-Warringah 7-190 off 50 overs (Mia Waddington 47, Kristie Crawford 46, Annabel Hutt 30; Darshana Kannan 2-29, Keiko Grantham 2-31) defeated Universities 67 off 30.1 overs (Darshana Kannan 31; Annabel Hutt 2-12, Kristie Crawford 2-14) at Manly Oval on Sunday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Manly-Warringah. Points: Universities


Third Grade (Round 7):  Gordon 151 off 36.2 overs (Kristen Dorsch 48, Peta Humphreys 27; Kristen Wraith 6-24) defeated Universities 3-133 off 40 overs (Kristen Wraith 47, Maeve Galley 42, Georgia Lomis-Futeran 23 not out; Johanna Blake 1-2) by 18 runs at Tonbridge Park on Saturday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Gordon. Points: Manly-Warringah 6, Universities 0.