Sydney University First Grade captain Liam Robertson’s form with the bat continued at Pratten Park on Saturday when he helped the Students to a 114-run win over Western Suburbs in their Round 5 limited overs fixture.

Batting at No.4, Robertson cracked 89 off 90 balls, with five boundaries and five sixes and shared a 96-run stand with opener Varun George (60).

Having been sent in, the Students posted a healthy 9-265 off their 50 overs, with Nicholas Walker (33) and Tim Cummins (28) the other main contributors. They then rolled the hosts for 151 off 41.2 overs, earning a bonus point on the way. Dugald Holloway (3-31), William Masojada (3-43) and Charlie Cassell (2-22) kept the pressure on Wests, with Joel Abraham leading the run chase with 54.

Robertson has amassed 456 runs at 50.7 in all forms (Twenty20, Limited Overs and Two-Day matches) this season. His effort on Saturday helped Sydney University back into the top six on the ladder.

Unbeaten Eastern Suburbs head the table, with Randwick-Petersham, Bankstown, Campbelltown-Camden, Sydney University and UTS North Sydney making up the top six.

Sydney University will host Parramatta in a limited overs fixture at University Oval this Saturday.

Western Suburbs claimed the points in Second Grade, while Sydney University won Third, Fourth and Fifth grades.

Sydney University also won their Round 3 Poidevin-Gray Shield clash with Northern District at University Oval on Sunday.

Having dismissed the visitors for 169, thanks to Charlie Cassell (3-21), Ben Mitchell (3-53) and Rex Greaves (2-24), the Students eked out 170 for the loss of nine wickets. Charlie Dummer led the way with 70, while Matthew Moran contributed 31.

Sydney University also collected the points in the Round 6 Metropolitan Cup match against Randwick-Petersham at Snape Oval on Saturday.

Azhar Saeed (92 not out) and Aryan Rodrigues (66 not out) helped the Students to 3-200 off 36.2 overs in reply to Randwick-Petersham’s 7-198 from their 50 overs.

Meanwhile, Having already collected the 2019-20 Women’s Twenty20 title, Universities opened the NSW Premier Women’s competition with a win over St George-Sutherland at Glenn McGrath Oval on Sunday.

Lara Graham’s unbeaten 76 helped Universities to 7-194 off 40 overs in reply to St George-Sutherland’s 8-193 off their 50 overs. Sophie Heath (37), Joanne Kelly (32) and Naomi Woods (29) led the way for the hosts, while Rachel Trenaman collected 3-32 for Universities.

Universities will meet Penrith in a Round 2 match at Howell Oval on Sunday.





NSW Premier competition – Round 5 (Limited Overs)


First Grade:  Sydney University 9-265 off 50 overs (Liam Robertson 89, Varun George 60, Nicholas Walker 33, Tim Cummins 28; Jonathan Cook 3-59, Michael Tudehope 2-32) defeated Western Suburbs 151 off 41.2 overs (Joel Abraham 54, Isaac Taylor 21; Dugald Holloway 3-31, William Masojada 3-43, Charlie Cassell 2-22) by 114 runs, with a bonus point, at Pratten Park on Saturday. Toss: Western Suburbs. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 7, Western Suburbs 0.


Second Grade: Western Suburbs 184 off 47 overs (Jason Hughes 48, Sibghat Khan 27, Lee Maggs 27, Dan Dsouza 22; Kieran Tate 4-52, Matthew Moran 3-25, Max Hope 2-28) defeated Sydney University 138 off 40.5 overs (Matthew Moran 37, Kieran Tate 28, Joshua Joseph 26; Liam Whitaker 3-7, Zain Shamsi 3-21, Oscar Oborn-Corby 3-32) by 46 runs at University Oval on Saturday. Toss: Western Suburbs. Batted first: Western Suburbs. Points: Western Suburbs 6, Sydney University 0.


Third Grade: Sydney University 6-224 off 50 overs  (Ryan Danne 85, Jack Hill 59, Oliver Zannino 34 not out) defeated Western Suburbs 203 off 47 overs (Matthew Chamberlain 51, Mandeep Oberoi 30 not out, Ptolemy Sofianidis 29, David Paterson 23; Brodie Frost 4-42, Jack Lawson 3-36) by 21 runs at Blick Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Western Suburbs 0.


Fourth Grade: Sydney University 4-150 off 32 overs Liam Coelho 46, Michael Robinson 28 not out) defeated Western Suburbs 145 off 40 overs (no details) by six wickets at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Western Suburbs. Points: Sydney University 6, Western Suburbs 0.


Fifth Grade: Sydney University 1-153 off 35.1 overs (Hugh Farrow 85, Brad Kayani 52 not out) defeated Western Suburbs 149 off 46.3 overs (Benjamin Girham 41, Taha Shoib 27; Ashwin Kirubanandan 2-11, Andrew Wilkinson 2-11) by nine wickets at Punchbowl Oval on Saturday. Toss:Western Suburbs. Batted first: Western Suburbs. Points: Sydney University 6, Western Suburbs 0.



Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 3 (Limited Overs)


Sydney University 9-170 off 45.2 overs (Charlie Dummer 70, Matthew Moran 31; Jack Harris 5-29) defeated Northern District 169 off 42.2 overs (Joe Hiley 57, Lewis Hextell 42; Charlie Cassell 3-21, Ben Mitchell 3-53, Rex Greaves 2-24) by one wicket at University Oval on Sunday. Toss: Northern District. Batted first: Northern District. Points: Sydney University 6, Northern District 0.



Metropolitan Cup competition – Round 6 (Two-day matches)


Sydney University 3-200 off 36.2 overs (Azhar Saeed 92 not out, Aryan Rodrigues 66 not out; Simran Sandhu 2-54) defeated Randwick-Petersham 7-198 off 50 overs (Ashin Shahid 78, Marley Besgrove 42; Thomas Crawford 3-42, Cullen Hathurusinghe 2-27) by seven wickets at Snape Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Randwick-Petersham. Points: Sydney University 6, Randwick-Petersham 0.



NSW Women’s Premier competition – Round 1 (Limited Overs)


First Grade: Universities 7-194 off 40 overs (Lara Graham 76 not out, Olivia Porter 26; Natasha Sole 3-31) defeated St George-Sutherland 8-193 off 50 overs (Sophie Heath 37, Joanne Kelly 32, Naomi Woods 29; Rachel Trenaman 3-32) by three wickets at Glenn McGrath Oval on Sunday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: St George-Sutherland. Points: Universities 6, St George-Sutherland 0.


Second Grade: No details.


Third Grade: Bankstown 5-207 off 40 overs (Chloe Butler ret not out 51, Sarah Lawler ret not out 51; Diana Lozell 2-40) defeated Universities 111 off 34 overs (Kirsten Wraith 55 not out; Rosalyn Ou 3-18) by 96 runs at Tonbridge Park on Saturday.