After chasing down 461 to earn first innings points against Manly-Warringah in Round 3, Sydney University came back to earth on Saturday when they were all out for 111 on day one of a two-day match against UTS North Sydney at University Oval.

Electing to bat first on their home turf, only four players reached double figures: opener Ryan McElduff (33), skipper Liam Robertson (26), Ben Trevor-Jones (17) and Dugald Holloway (16) in the low tally.

UTS North Sydney employed six bowlers and they all took wickets, with James Aitken (3-6) and James Campbell (3-26) reaping the best rewards.

The visitors made short work of securing first innings points before declaring at 7-163, with  Robert Aitken (44), Oliver Knight (35 not out) and Benjamin Bryant (35) the main contributors. Ben Joy picked up 4-40 off a productive 10 overs.

Sydney University went to stumps at on six without loss and hopes of an outright result next Saturday.

The Students backed up on Sunday for a Round 5 Twenty20 match against Hawkesbury at Owen Earle Oval.

Those mundane details don’t reveal the carnage that awaited.

Having been sent in to bat, Sydney University posted a very healthy 209 for the loss of three wickets, thanks to an unbeaten 121 from opener Hayden Kerr and a quick fire 46 from Liam Robertson.

Kerr cracked six boundaries and eight sixes in his 70-ball stay in a wonderful exhibition of clean hitting, while Robertson faced 27 balls for his cameo.

Enter Hawkesbury skipper Peter Forrest. Batting at No.3, the former NSW, Queensland representative and Australian One Day international joined opener Ryan Mizzi in an astonishing 179-run partnership to chase down the big total in 15.5 overs.

Forrest cracked 106 from just 41 balls, with 10 sixes and half a dozen boundaries in his 66-minute stay, while Mizzi’s 83 came from 38 balls, with seven boundaries and five over the fence.

Hawkesbury reached 213 for the loss of three wickets, with Ben Joy keeping them honest to finish with 1-22 off his three overs.




NSW Premier competition – Round 4 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Sydney University 111 off 50.3 overs (Ryan McElduff 33, Liam Robertson 26; James Aitken 3-6, James Campbell 3-26) and 0-6 off three overs) versus UTS North Sydney 7(dec)-163 off 38 overs (Robert Aitken 44, Benjamin Bryant 35; Ben Joy 4-40) stumps, day one, at University Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.

Second Grade: UTS North Sydney 8-316 off 96 overs (Glenn Aitken 93, Raymond Alexander 71 not out, Broc Hardy 60; Kieran Tate 3-52, Lewis McMahon 3-54) versus Sydney University, stumps, day one at Bon Andrews Oval on Saturday. Toss: UTS North Sydney. Batted first: UTS North Sydney.

Third Grade: UTS North Sydney237 off 80 overs (Jarrad Ninness 56, Ahmer Amir 62, Dhruva Thorat 29; Sam Wood 4-56, Jack Lawson 3-81) versus Sydney University, stumps, day one at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: UTS North Sydney. Batted first: UTS North Sydney.

Fourth Grade: Sydney University 7(dec)-273 off 76 overs (Oliver Zannino 74 not out, James Veitch 52, Michael Robinson 47; Timothy Robson 3-54) versus UTS North Sydney 0-4, stumps, day one at Tunks Park on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.

Fifth Grade: Sydney University 203 off 58 overs (Lucas Wilson 67, Zohirul Islam 49; Patrick Lindsay 5-39, Peter Brazel 2-20) versus UTS North Sydney 2-52 off 19 overs, stumps, day one at Camperdown Park. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.



Twenty20 Cup – Round 5

Hawkesbury 2-213 off 15.5 overs (Peter Forrest 106, Ryan Mizzi 83 not out; Ben Joy 1-22) defeated Sydney University 3-209 off 20 overs (Hayden Kerr 121 not out, Liam Robertson 46, Dugald Holloway 24 not out; Nivethgan Radhakrishnan 1-34) by eight wickets at Owen Earle Oval on Sunday. Toss: Hawkesbury. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Hawkesbury. Sydney University 0.



Metropolitan Cup competition – Round 5 (Two-day matches)

Warringah 4(dec)-402 off 66 overs (Michael Singh 183 not out, Josh Cooper 150) versus Sydney University 2-15 off 12 overs at, stumps, day one at Mike Pawley Oval on Saturday. Toss: Warringah. Batted first: Warringah.