Sydney University had to settle for a draw in their two-day match against Randwick-Petersham at University Oval on Saturday.

With rain having prevented play on the first day, Saturday’s result came down to the toss and a declaration. The visitors won the toss, but gave the hosts first use of the wicket.

Sydney University skipper Liam Robertson led the way with an unbeaten 72 before declaring at 8-280. He cracked five boundaries and three over the top in his 93-ball stay.

He was well supported by first round century-maker Hayden Kerr who contributed 51 off 54 balls, and Damien Mortimer with 36.

The declaration gave Sydney University 43 overs to rattle the Randypetes, but they held out to be 5-145 when stumps were drawn, with Shaun Eaton (59) and Jason Sangha (44) the main contributors. Kerr and Dugald Holloway each collected 2-22.

Backing up on Sunday for the first round of the Twenty20 Cup competition, Kerr was once again among the runs as Sydney University posted 9-152 before restricting Blacktown Mounties to 8-133.

Opening the innings, Kerr blasted 84 off 52 balls, with four boundaries and half a dozen sixes at Joe McAleer Reserve.

Ryan McElduff (2-12), Liam Robertson (2-17) and Devlin Malone (2-28) then kept the brakes on the Mounties for a 19-run win.

Sunday also saw the first round if the Poidevin-Gray Shield, with Blacktown Mounties posting a 13-run result over Sydney University in the Twenty20 clash at Joe McAleer Reserve.

After being sent in to bat, the Mounties amassed 6-139 on the back of a 109-run, sixth wicket partnership between Eknoor Singh (64) and Thomas Atlee (49 not out). Charlie Cassell was the best of the University bowlers, collecting 3-17 from his four overs.

The Students were then restricted to 8-126 with Ben Mitchell (31) and Ryan McElduff (23) the main contributors, while Dominic O’Shannessy bagged (2-21) for the hosts.

The third round of the Premier competition sees Sydney University up against Manly-Warringah in another two-day clash, with First Grade being played at Manly Oval.



NSW Premier competition – Round 2 (Two-day matches)


First Grade: Sydney University 8(dec)-280 off 65 overs (Liam Robertson 72 not out, Hayden Kerr 51, Damien Mortimer 36; Adam Semple 3-65) drew with Randwick-Petersham 5-145 off 43 overs (Shaun Eaton 59, Jason Sangha 44; Hayden Kerr 2-22, Dugald Holloway 2-22.) at Sydney University Oval on Saturday. No play on day one due to rain. Toss: Randwick-Petersham. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 1, Randwick-Petersham 1.


Second Grade: Randwick-Petersham 5(dec)-270 off 71 overs (Matthew Everett 94, Adam Docos 81, Stephen Doheny 49 not out, Dylan Hunter 33; Lewis McMahon 2-33) defeated Sydney University 129 off 55.3 overs (Max Hope 28; Thomas McKenzie 3-13, Jamie Hemphrey 2-31) on the first innings at Coogee Oval on Saturday. Toss: Randwick-Petersham. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Randwick-Petersham 6, Sydney University 0.


Third Grade: Sydney University 5(dec)-313 off 74 overs (Matthew Moran 142, Tom Fullerton 124 not out; Douglas Loth 2-56) defeated Randwick-Petersham 94 off 37 overs (Douglas Loth 17; Murray Watts 6-22) and 3-89 off 26.2 overs (Benjamin Montedoro 43; Murray Watts 1-15) on the first innings at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Randwick-Petersham 0.


Fourth Grade: Sydney University 2-205 off 55 overs (Liam Coelho 94 not out, Brayden Dilley 62 not out; Bilal Abbasi 1-29) defeated Randwick-Petersham 203 off 75 overs (Jordan Segal 51, Thomas Holland 38, Ross Elliot 26; Sam Wood 3-47, Lewis Ansell 2-15) on the first innings at Kensington Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Randwick-Petersham. Points: Sydney University 6, Randwick-Petersham 0.


Fifth Grade: Sydney University versus Randwick-Petersham at Camperdown Park on Saturday. No play on day one due to rain; no play on day two due to state of the ground.




Twenty20 Cup – Round 1

Sydney University 9-152 off 20 overs (Hayden Kerr 84; Antum Naqvi 2-24, Harmon Sandhu 2-26) defeated Blacktown Mounties 8-133 off 20 overs (Jonathon Sammut 33, Jordan Gauci 22, Thomas Atlee 20 not out; Ryan McElduff 2-12, Liam Robertson 2-17, Devlin Malone 2-28) by 19 runs at Joe McAleer Reserve on Sunday. Toss: Batted first: Points:


Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 1 (Twenty20)

Blacktown Mounties 6-139 off 20 overs (Eknoor Singh 64, Thomas Atlee 49 not out; Charlie Cassell 3-17) defeated Sydney University 8-126 off 20 overs (Ben Mitchell 31, Ryan McElduff 23; Dominic O’Shannessy 2-21) by 13 runs at Joe McAleer Reserve on Sunday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Blacktown Mounties. Points: Blacktown Mounties 3, Sydney University 0.

Metropolitan Cup competition – Round 3 (Limited Overs)

Hawkesbury 2-84 off 26.3 overs (Liam Devaney 33, Mitchell Roeder 21 not out; Willis Gunesekera 1-16) defeated Sydney University 77 off 23.5 overs (Muhammad Ghumman 10 not out; Jack Chapman 3-18, Harishaan Puvanenthican 2-7) by eight wickets at Bensons Lane on Sunday. Toss: Hawkesbury. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Hawkesbury 6, Sydney University 0.