Sydney University consolidated their push for finals football in the NEAFL competition with a comprehensive 88-point win over Northern Territory Thunder at Marrara Oval (TIO Stadium) in Darwin on Saturday.

NEAFL Rising Star nominee Harry Morrison finished with five goals, including three in the crucial third term, while Montgomery Krochmal slotted four and Joshua Stern three in the 21.14 (140) to 7.10 (52) result.

And Jake Bartholomaeus led the disposals with 28 as Sydney University unveiled a display of up-tempo run and carry play with pinpoint marking to answer any challenge the hosts could muster.

Undefeated Brisbane head the ladder on 64 points with two rounds of the competition proper to be played, with Southport (44), Sydney (40), Aspley (36), Giants (36) and Sydney University (34) making up the top six.

Sydney University will be on the road for the final two competition rounds, taking on ninth-placed Redland at Scottsdale Park, in south-east Queensland, this Saturday, and ending the competition proper against Southport at Fankhauser Reserve on the Gold Coast the following week.




NEAFL – Round 19


Sydney University  21.14: 140 (Harry Morrison 5, Montgomery Krochmal 4, Joshua Stern 3, William Sierakowski 2, Jake Bartholomaeus 2, Tristan Davies 2, Lewis Stevenson, Nicholas Foster) defeated Northern Territory Thunder 7.10: 52 (Kieran Delahunty 2, Ed Barlow, Joel Jeffrey, Damian Williams, Abraham Ankers Benjamin Rioli) at  Marrara Oval, Darwin, on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University: Thomas Banuelos, Harry Morrison, Montgomery Krochmal, Bailey Stewart, Jake Bartholomaeus, Joshua Stern.

Northern Territory Thunder: Benjamin, Rioli Abraham, Ankers Kieran Parnell, Josiah Farrer, Brandon Rusca, Ed Barlow.


Sydney Premier Division – Round 16 


Premier Division: UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs 10.10: 70 (Jesse Aish 4, Harry Annear 2, Jake Brown, Johnny Pawle, Hayden Nichols, Matthew Rawlinson) defeated Sydney University 3.9: 27 (Damien Bonney, Allister Clarke, Malcolm Picken) at Sydney University Oval on Saturday.

Best players:

Sydney University:  Allister Clarke, Aaron Day, Spencer Krochmal, Tom Ayton, Matthew Powys, Ryan Kennedy.

UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs: Hayden Nichols, Liam Hoy, Darren Pfeiffer, Matthew Rawlinson, Harry Annear, Brandon Jack.


Reserve Grade: UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs13.7: 85 (Alex Werfel 3, Benjamin Eddy 3, Matt Collins 2, Cillian Stritch, Thomas Heath, Luke Irvine, Nicholas Marsh) defeated Sydney University   3.6: 24 (Luke Freemantle 2, Christopher Akehurst) at Sydney University Oval on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University: Samuel Power, Sam Mazzer, Kyle Underwood, Sebastian Trevaskis, Christopher Akehurst, Xavier Nelson.

UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs:  Harry Palmer, Fletcher Rowe, Lachlan O’Callaghan, Matt Collins, Benjamin Eddy, Thomas Heath.


Division One:  Sydney University  14.11: 95 (Billy Lambert 4, Ned Rohrt 3, Kyle Homberg 3, Ronan Geraghty, David Starkey, Michael Gazeas, Sean Stokoe) defeated UTS 3.7: 265 (Mitchell Thompson 2, Richard Rosendorff) at Trumper Park on Saturday.

Best players

UTS: Samuel Atkinson, Richard Rosendorff, Mitchell Thompson, Ashton Ryder, James Holyman, William McClintock.

Sydney University: Chris Mohen, William Thredgold, Gabriel Orr, Stephen Kenny, Jack Hollywood, Billy Lambert.


Division Two: UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs 14.8: 92 (Tom Williamson 5, Jack McKinlay 3, Troy Luff 2, Tate Meredith, Eamon O’Donnell, Blake Griffith, Lachlan Reid) defeatedSydney University   5.0: 30 (Joshua Cutrupi 2, Adam Lyons, Jonathan Weir, Paul Oscar) at Sydney University Oval on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University:  Harry Kostas, Josh Gregory, Matthew Wonders, Chas Wilkinson, Lachlan Bennetts-Inkster, L Astri.

UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs: Jack McKinlay, Matthew Pettit, Cameron McKinlay, Lachlan Reid, Edward Lewis, Jethro Fox.


Division Three: Camden Cats 17.16: 118 (Hayden Marsh 5, Jihad Ykmour 3, Joel Upfill 3, Jarrod Campbell 2, Jack Rerekura 2, Ben Laid, Beau Snellman) defeated Sydney University 0.2: 2 at Fairfax Reserve on Saturday.

Best players

Camden Cats: John Murtagh, Lochlan Tipper, Hayden Marsh, James Hayes, Beau Snellman, Jarrod Campbell.

Sydney University: Angus Malmo, Benjamin Wrigley, Ewen Spinks, Matthew Jensen, Chester Travers, Liam Cavell.


Under 19 Division One: Sydney University 11.9: 75 (Luke Gallen 3, Ben Davis 3, Damien Dickson 2, Thomas Linfield-Kent, Andreas Apostolou, Che Munro) defeated UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs 2.8: 20 (Sam Kofod, Jack Willis) at Sydney University Oval on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University: Andreas Apostolou, Damien Dickson, Billy Chudleigh, Ewan MacDonald, Joshua Lee, Jotaro Howard-Shibuya.

UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs: Harrison Dyson, Oscar Peter, Sam Kofod, Kyle Chandler, Ash Bryan, Lincoln Powley.


Under 19 Division Two: West Goannas 9.3: 57 (Taidhg Ryan 4, Aaron Naulty, Matt Tanuku, Lucas Lam, Ben Searle, Max Goldberger) defeated Sydney University 4.6: 30 (Riley Holmes 2, Lucas Ward, Luca Ekins)  at Moina Park on Sunday.

Best players

West Goannas:  Lucas Lam, Cain Doyle, Aaron Naulty, Lachlan Tanuku, Taidgh Ryan, Lachlan Zerafa.

Sydney University: Luca Ekins, Luca Tamba, Harrison Best, Geordie Maclean, Rory Bresnahan, Nicholas Maclean.



Sydney Women’s Premier Division – Round 16


Premier Division: Sydney University Bombers 13.18: 96 (Amber Laven 4, Stephanie Gillon 3, Andrea Roditis 2, Chiara Palazzo 2, Zoe Hurrell, Amy Foo) defeated Newtown Breakaways 0.1: 1 at Sydney University Oval on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University:  Kristen Hay, Stephanie Gillon, Zoe Hurrell, Amber Laven, Amy Foo, Andrea Roditis.

Newtown Breakaways: Sarah Pittman, Lolita-Lee Perrin, Eloise Kneebone, Clare Deegan, Lauren Black.


Round 17


Division Two: Sydney University Bombers 3.10: 28 (Gemma Viney, Eleanor Finch, Chaylee Reeve) defeated Wollondilly Knights 2.1: 13 (Zoe Groom, Grace Meier) at Hannaford Oval at on Saturday.

Best players

Wollondilly Knights: Ashlei Paget, Courtney Hart, Zoe Groom, Micalei Robinson, Jade Powell, Rachel Wyper.

Sydney University: Elanor Finch, Isabella Gray, Sarah Thompson, Chaylee Reeve, Renae Pritchard, Georgia Davis.