Nominees announced for 2018 Sports Awards

  1. Home
  2. Sport
  3. Nominees announced for 2018 Sports Awards

It’s that time of the year to prep your best fit for the University of Sydney’s highly anticipated 2018 Sports Awards.

To recognise last year’s greatness, talent and hard work, on and off the field, it is only appropriate to hold the night at the University’s Great Hall.

We will begin by acknowledging The Vice Chancellor’s Participation Program of the Year Award by celebrating the success of the Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness Water Safe Program (new in 2018) and the Boat Club’s Learn to Row Program.

This Award (introduced at the 2017 Sports Awards) recognises the importance of Students having their best experience at University, providing invaluable opportunities to learn to swim and learn to row.

The famous Ann Mitchell UniSport Australia Award will then award the most outstanding team performance at the National Championships, with Women’s Soccer, Sydney University Boat, Women’s Ultimate Frisbee and Men’s Baseball each nominated.

These teams each won pennants for the University of Sydney at the 2018 Div 1 Nationals on the Gold Coast, contributing to the University’s second-place finish.

The evening will also celebrate the Professional Administrator of the Year Award, with Steph Glanville-Fyfe of Sydney University Soccer Football Club, JoAnn Matruglio from Water Polo, Dale Bryant from Men’s Cricket and Sarah Cook of Sydney University Boat Club, named as nominees.

Much like their athletes, their dedication and passion – often behind the scenes – contributes to their respective club running like silk.

For our Club-Administrator of the Year Awards, the highly regarded Female Pat Sharp award and Male Rosenblum Family Trophy award are mementos to the act of dedication and achievement.

Our Finalists, Jamie-Erin Hardaker, Nick Olive, Antony Rowda and Liam Varley, have been nominated for embodying this excellence and hard work.

Moving now into the field itself, the night will honour those who are relentless in their contribution to the ‘body’ of their team – both coaches and athletes.

Coach Milos Vrcelj and Steve Bennie have been voted to receive the Coach of the Year award for reaching and achieving beyond themselves as leaders.

After 2017’s near taste of victory, Steve Bennie led Sydney University’s Women’s Rugby team to the trophy with an untainted season scoreboard. Meanwhile, Milos Vrceli and Sydney University American Football won both the Waratah Bowl (Men’s) and Opal Bowl (Women’s, in their inaugural year).

These two clubs – alongside Baseball – have also been nominated in the Club of the Year category.

To show for their excellent performance last year, the award for the Premier Club of the Year will be chosen from Athletics, Boat, Rugby, Water Polo, Men’s Cricket and Soccer.

Finally, the night will conclude with the highly anticipated Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Award.

Previously awarded to some of the most exceptional athletes produced at the University of Sydney, both categories see 2017 winners appear in the form of basketball legend, Belinda Snell and champion Water Polo goalie, Anthony Hyrsanthos.

New nominees include Soccer’s Clare Wheeler and Hockey’s Greta Hayes, who was recently named in the Hockeyroos squad. 2018 Commonwealth Games competitors Nicola McDermott (bronze medal winner) and Rohan Browning also appear, representing Sydney University Athletics Club.

Sportswoman of the Year Finalists:

Clare Wheeler – Soccer

Nicola McDermott – Athletics

Greta Hayes – Hockey

Belinda Snell – Basketball

Sportsman of the Year Finalists:

Rohan Browning – Athletics

Anthony Hyrsanthos – Water Polo

These student-athletes were voted for because of their outstanding achievements in sport, all while negotiating their study.

The winner will be announced on the night of the Awards ceremony.

Other highlights will be current Waratah and Elite Athlete Program member, Tomas Robertson’s Valedictorian Speech, as well as an exciting panel discussion led by Greg O’Mahoney which will feature Hayden Kerr (Cricket), Georgia Whitehouse (Cycling) and Carmen Marton (Taekwondo).

We look forward to celebrating each of our clubs, athletes and administrators, not to mention recognise our 2019 scholarship recipients, at our Sports Awards dinner next month.