Whitehouse and Sydney Uni Velo claim NSW Cycling honours

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Whitehouse and Sydney Uni Velo claim NSW Cycling honours

Georgia Whitehouse and Sydney Uni Velo Club have been recognised for a successful 2018 at the Cycling NSW awards ceremony over the weekend.

Following an outstanding 2018 season, Georgia Whitehouse (Sydney Uni Velo Club / Sydney Uni-Staminade) won Roadwoman of the Year.

The NSW Road Premiership is the most prestigious road racing series in NSW. It recognises the best and most consistent cyclists across the Cycling NSW road season. Riders score points towards the Premiership by placing highly in selected road races throughout the year.

After winning the first four rounds of 2018 outright and accumulating 400 points in the process, Georgia had the luxury of sitting out the rest of the Premiership with an unassailable lead. She was unable to attend the ceremony and will be recognised at the Bathurst Cycling Classic on the 17th March.

Sydney Uni Velo Club also claimed the 2018 NSW Club Road Premiership, taking out honours for the fourth year running. 

Each year, Clubs earn points towards the NSW Club Road Premiership in several different ways. A rider’s points earned in each of the other Premiership categories are added towards their club’s tally. Secondly, to recognise participation, every rider earns 1 point for their club for every NSW Road Premiership race that they start.

Finally, the NSW Club Team Time Trial Championships count towards the NSW Club Road Premiership. Each team earns 1 point for their club by starting in the Club TTT Championships.

Congratulations to both Georgia (Sydney Uni Staminade) and the entirety of Sydney Uni Velo Club!