Students through to Limited Overs Cup final

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Students through to Limited Overs Cup final

An unbeaten 64 off 61 balls from Ed Cowan helped Sydney University to a berth in the final of the First Grade Limited-Overs Cup Grand Final.

The Students will meet the Sydney Tigers in the season decider at Drummoyne Oval this Sunday, March 3.

Cowan, the former Australian Test and NSW Blues opener, batted at No.5 on Sunday as the Students chased down Gordon’s 8-227 in their semi-final at University Oval.

He hit six boundaries and a pair of sixes as Sydney University ran down the target in the 44th over, finishing with 4-228.

Opener Hayden Kerr set the scene for the hosts, cracking 48 off 39 deliveries, including six boundaries and three over the fence, while Damien Mortimer (38), Ryan McElduff (34 not out) and Liam Robertson (22) kept the scoreboard ticking.

Gordon’s tally came on the back of No.5 Tym Crawford’s 67, and a 90-run, eighth-wicket stand between Max Newman (50 not out) and Scott O’Brien (48).

Ben Joy finished his 10 overs with 3-29, while leg-spinner Devlin Malone chipped in with 2-43.

Sydney will host the decider at Drummoyne Oval thanks to one more bonus point than the Students during the preliminary rounds.

The students finished at 4/228 in reply to 8/227 posted by Gordon at University Oval. Seamer Ben Joy returned best figures for the victors with 3-29 from 10 overs.


NSW Premier Cricket: First Grade Limited-Overs Cup – Semi-Finals

Sydney University 4-228 (Ed Cowan 64 not out, Hayden Kerr 48, Damien Mortimer 38, Ryan  McElduff 34 not out, Liam Robertson 22; Charlie Stobo 2-48) defeated Gordon 8-227 (Tym Crawford 67, Max Newman 50 not out, Scott O’Brien 48; Ben Joy 3-29, Devlin Malone 2-43).

 Sydney 9-263 (Ryan Felsch 78 Nick Govers 53 not out, Ben Manenti 47; Beau McClintock 26, Zak; Crawley 21 Nathan McAndrew 3-46, Bradley Simpson 2-44, Benjamin Taylor 2-48, Rhys Williams 2-58) defeated Bankstown 201 (Chris Ridley 52, Michael Stretton, 40 Nathan McAndrew 35, Nick Carruthers 35; Nicholas Bills 4-38, Ryan Felsch 2-27) at Drummoyne Oval,