Ed Cowan returned to the club scene on Saturday and helped Sydney University to a five-wicket win over Bankstown in the first of the limited overs matches for the 2018-19 season.

Batting at No.4, Cowan cracked 85 off 63 deliveries, with nine boundaries and four 6s. He shared a 108-run third-wicket partnership with Damien Mortimer (44) as the Students amassed 5-235 in reply to the host’s 231.

Cowan’s quick-fire assault saw the Students reach the target with 11 overs to spare.

Having won the toss and batted, Bankstown were all out two balls into the 49th over, with Nathan McAndrew (78), Chris Ridley (67) and Nick Carruthers (34) the main contributors. Liam Robertson (3-30), Devlin Malone (3-33) and Joe Kershaw (2-32) were the pick of the Sydney University bowlers.

The win kept Sydney University at the head the First Grade ladder on 39 points after nine rounds, with Sydney(38), UNSW (35), Penrith (31), Parramatta (31) and UTS North Sydney (31) making up the top six.

And with Second, Third and Fourth grades also heading their tables, Fifth Grade sitting second on the ladder, Poidevin-Gray (14th) and Green Shield (9th), Sydney University also head the Club Championship on 967 points. Parramatta (762), Penrith (747) and Bankstown (720) are the main contenders.

Sydney University also won Second, Third and Fourth Grades on Saturday, with Bankstown taking the points in Fifth Grade.

Nicky Craze (76), James Larkin (57) and Ben Trevor-Jones (55) helped Sydney University Seconds to 242 off their 50 overs at University Oval before Charlie Cassell (5-35) and Matthew Moran (2-33) helped roll Bankstown for 186 off 44 overs.

Alasdair Grant (86), Alexander Shaw (84) and Tom Kierath (24 not out) helped Sydney University Thirds to 8-250 not out at Jensen Park before Tom Kierath (4-50) and Lewis McMahon (2-31) helped restrict Bankstown to 196 off 54 overs.



Sydney Men’s Premier Grade cricket competition – Round 9 (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Sydney University 5-235 off 38.3 overs (Ed Cowan 85, Damien Mortimer 44, Hayden Kerr 29, Tim Cummins 21; Kyle Brockley 2-37) defeated Bankstown 231 off 49.2 overs (Nathan McAndrew 78, Chris Ridley 67, Nick Carruthers 34; Liam Robertson 3-30, Devlin Malone 3-33, Joe Kershaw 2-32) by five wickets at Bankstown Oval on Saturday. Toss: Bankstown. Batted first: Bankstown. Points: Sydney University 6, Bankstown 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 242 off 50 overs (Nicky Craze 76, James Larkin 57, Ben Trevor-Jones 55; Bradley Simpson 3-57, Ryan Clark 3-57) defeated Bankstown 186 off 44.1 overs (Ben Le Bas 39, Mitchell Hinds 37, Tony Clark 35 not out; Charlie Cassell 5-35, Matthew Moran 2-33) by 56 runs at University Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Bankstown 0.

Third Grade: Sydney University 8-250 off 50 overs (Alasdair Grant 86, Alexander Shaw 84, Tom Kierath 24 not out; Wallace Marshall 4-59, Tushaar Garg 2-41) defeated Bankstown 196 off 45.3 overs (Matthew Dedes 54, Cameron Cotter 51, Daniel Hayes 45; Tom Kierath 4-50, Lewis McMahon 2-31) by 54 runs at Jensen Park on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Bankstown 0.

Fourth Grade: Sydney University 3-72 off 13.2 overs (Hayden Storey 21, Matthew Powys 19, William Masojada 17 not out; Niran Wijewardene 2-15) defeated Bankstown 71 off 31.4 overs (Niran Wijewardene 18; Henry Clark 3-9, Murray Watts 2-14, Jazz Rinka 2-18, William Masojada 2-19) by seven wickets, with a bonus point, at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: Bankstown. Batted first: Bankstown. Points: Sydney University 7, Bankstown 0.

Fifth Grade: Bankstown 6-198 off 46.1 overs (Mathew Kelly 57 not out, Kayne Grove 40, Blake Pearson 37 not out; Ned Barnet 3-37, Tom Hill 2-32) defeated Sydney University 9-193 off 50 overs (Liam Coelho 85, Tom Hill 25, Ned Barnet 23; Blake Pearson 3-29, Mathew Kelly 2-32, Chris Stefanish 2-32) by four wickets at Grahame Thomas Oval on Saturday. Toss:  Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Bankstown 6, Sydney University 0.

Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 9 (Limited Overs)

Sydney 9-223 off 50 overs (Liam Scott 108, Thomas Mullen 31; William Masojada 4-41, Jazz Rinka 2-31) defeated Sydney University 103 off 42 overs (Ben Mitchell 36, Charlie Cassell 18; Thomas Mullen 3-21, Liam Scott 2-6) by 120 runs, with a bonus point, at Drummoyne Oval on Sunday. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney. Points: Sydney 7, Sydney University 0.

A.W. Green Shield –Round 5 (Limited Overs)

Sydney 5-136 off 42.4 overs (Joshua Yeoh 37 not out, Lachlan Ball 23, Harrison Townsend 23; Adhirath Senthil 1-4, Curtis Mackinnon 1-10, Haider Ali 1-10) defeated Sydney University 7-135 off 50 overs (Thomas Phelps 43, Sanjay Anandarajah 34; Anay Baruah 3-24) by five wickets at University Oval on Sunday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney 6, Sydney University 0.

Sydney Premier Women’s competition – Round 13 (T20)

Penrith 4-120 off 18.4 overs (no details available) defeated Universities Gold 1-119 off 20 overs (no details available) by six wickets at Alan Davidson Oval on Sunday. Toss: Universities Gold. Batted first: Universities Gold. Points: Penrith 6, Universities Gold 0.