2018 SUVelo Club Champions crowned

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. 2018 SUVelo Club Champions crowned

The 2018 Sydney Uni Velo Club Championships took place at Heffron Park in Maroubra at the weekend. There was a great turnout, and with no previous winners lining up on the start line there were going to be new names going on the trophies this year.

Racing started with the Women and Men’s C in a mixed bunch start, but with distinct races. The Women’s field was wide open and anyone could have taken out the win. As it was, it was a late entrant Fiona Yard who proved strongest of the bunch, after main rival Edel O’Hagan got a badly timed puncture. Rounding out the podium was Virginia Woods in her annual crit, along with Rose Vassel coming in third.

Over in the Men’s C race chief commissaire and club president Andrew Duggan made C grade a lively bunch before getting the hook with two laps to go. This left the field to fight for the win and it was a well deserved win for Ian Schmidt who was able to find the right time to launch his effort and smile to the camera at the finish.

Next, the Men’s B and Men’s Club Championship title were on the line. In Men’s B SUVelo showed the depth of the Club, with huge numbers turning out to race. There were some lively early attacks from the likes of Nelson Aston and Kris Sostaric but ultimately they were in vain, as B came back together as it so often does. With two laps to go Chris Killmore looked like he might have a decisive gap only be reeled in after the bell which set things up nicely for the sprinters to do their thing. The smart money was on Andy Matthews and he delivered, holding off a rampaging Nic Martin and Lachlan Burrows into third.

In the main event for men the field showed the pathway to the NRS with Australia’s previous L’etape winners, Chris Miller and Jesse Coyle, both lining up. Brendan Hancox stepped up into A grade after some very strong form of late and more than held his own, making the split early on and showing his potential at this level.

A Nero KOM race team formed at the front and with Angus Wilson, Robbie Matthews, Chris Miller and James Nicol all making Jesse Coyle do more than his fair share. Brendan Hancox made up the rest of the front split. In the end it was the powerful and well timed effort that gave James Nicol the line honours, following in the footsteps of some SUVelo greats and getting his name on the trophy.

Congratulations to James Nicol and Fiona Yard, Sydney Uni Velo’s 2018 Club Champions.

2018 Club Championship Placings:

1st Fiona Yard
2nd Virginia Woods
3rd Rose Vassel

Men’s A:
1st James Nicol
2nd Jesse Coyle
3rd Angus Wilson

Men’s B:

1st Andy Matthews
2nd Nicholas Martin
3rd Lachlan Burrows

Men’s C:
1st Ian Schmidt McLachlan
2nd Andrew Gordon
3rd Lewis Waugh