Young leg-spinner Devlin Malone’s early season wicket-taking streak continued at University Oval on Saturday, when he claimed 5-65 in Sydney University’s first innings win over Fairfield-Liverpool.

He bagged another two in Sydney University’s 79-run win over Australian Capital Territory in a Twenty20 fixture at University Oval on Sunday to take his season tally to 19 wickets in Sydney’s premier grade competitions.

Malone’s 21-over effort on Saturday complemented opener Ben Trevor-Jones’s first day contribution of 124, which allowed skipper Liam Robinson to close Sydney University’s first innings at 9-295 just before stumps.

Tim Ley (2-23) and Dugald Holloway (2-40) had Fairfield-Liverpool teetering at 3-33 on day two before the middle order of Luke Ohrynowsky (58), Jeremy Cashman (36 not out) and Harmon Sandhu (35) staged a fightback.

Malone then entered the fray and the visitors were all out for 206, with the hosts claiming six points for the win.

Penrith head the Belvidere Cup competition on 25 points, with Sydney University second on 20 points. But with a clean sweep of the five grades on Saturday, the Students head the Club Championship on 410 points, with Randwick-Petersham second on 347 points.

Meanwhile, Ryan Danne (141) and Steve Hobson (104) posted an opening stand of 248 as Sydney University Second Grade took first innings points, posting 3-302 in reply to Fairfield-Liverpool’s 7(dec)-300.

Danne’s 236-ball stay included nine boundaries, while Hobson’s second century of the season included 11 picket rattlers.

Hobson started the season with a first round 122 against Manly-Warringah. He’s now scored 263 runs from four rounds at 87.66.

Meanwhile, Georgia Redmayne cut loose with the willow  in Universities 105-run win over Northern District in their Round 5 women’s limited overs match at Mark Taylor Oval on Sunday.

The opener hit 20 boundaries in scoring 165 as Universities tallied 7-336. She shared partnerships of 168 with No.4 Carly Leeson (66) and 74 with Maisy Gibson (26).

Universities held Northern District to 5-231 with Stella Campbell claiming 2-26.



Sydney Premier Grade cricket competition – Round 4 (Two-day fixtures)

First Grade: Sydney University 9(dec)-295 off 90 overs (Ben Trevor-Jones 124, Tim Cummins 55, Dugald Holloway 48; Harmon Sandhu 5-46, Josh Baraba 3-49) defeated Fairfield- Liverpool 206 off 75.2 overs (Luke Ohrynowsky 58, Jeremy Cashman 36 not out, Harmon Sandhu 35; Devlin Malone 5-65, Tim Ley 2-23, Dugald Holloway 2-40) on the first innings at Sydney University Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Fairfield-Liverpool 0.


Second Grade: Sydney University 3-302 off 74.5 overs (Ryan Danne 141, Steven Hobson 104; Varanjit Singh 2-73) defeated Fairfield-Liverpool 7(dec)-300 off 106 overs (Varanjit Singh 82, Russell Wilcoxon 75, Gurattanbir Singh 46 not out; Ryan Danne 2-31, David Miller 1-12)on the first innings at Rosedale Oval on Saturday. Toss: Fairfield-Liverpool. Batted first: Fairfield-Liverpool. Points: Sydney University 6, Fairfield-Liverpool 0.


Third Grade: Sydney University 3-289 (Jack Hill 94, Ben Larkin 89, Charles Litchfield 69 not out) defeated Fairfield-Liverpool 288 off 75.1 overs (Dean Hayes 67, Lachlan O’Connor 63; Ash Cowan 4-23, Jazz Rinka 2-47) on the first innings at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: Fairfield-Liverpool. Batted first: Fairfield-Liverpool. Points: Sydney University 6, Fairfield-Liverpool 0.


Fourth Grade: Sydney University 6(dec)-232 off 78 overs (James Robertson 84, Michael Robinson 61; Matthew Starr 2-29) defeated Fairfield-Liverpool 97 off 42 overs (Rushi Padhye 28; Lewis McMahon 4-25, Billy Barge 2-8, Sanmjiv Khalkho 2-22) on the first innings at Fairfield Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney University.


Fifth Grade: Sydney University 7(dec)-204 (Lewis Ansell 91, Andrew Wilkinson 47, William Masojada 24,  Zohirul Islam 20; Simon Grove 3-47) defeated Fairfield-Liverpool 165 off 57.2 overs (Simon Grove 76, Navjot Singh 37; Brodie Frost 5-26, Shehan Canagasingham 4-23) and 8-140 (Colby Howard 26 not out; Murray Watts 2-9, Murray Miles 2-17)  on the first innings at Camperdown Park on Saturday. Toss: Fairfield-Liverpool. Batted first: Fairfield-Liverpool. Points: Sydney University 6, Fairfield-Liverpool 0.

Twenty20 Cup – Round 2

Sydney University 3-207 off 20 over (Ed Cowan 69, Liam Robertson 49, Hayden Kerr 40; Shane Devoy 2-37) defeated Australian Capital Territory 128 off 17.4 overs (John Rogers 28, Jono Dean 25; Joe Kershaw 3-28, Dugald Holloway 2-15, Devlin Malone 2-30) by 79 runs at University Oval on Sunday. Toss: ACT. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, ACT 0.


Sydney Women’s Premier competition – Round 4 (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Universities 7-336 off 50 overs (Georgia Redmayne 165, Carly Leeson 66; Allison McGrath 3-53) defeated Northern District 5-231 off 50 overs (Matilda Lugg 102; Stella Campbell 2-26) 105 runs at Mark Taylor Oval on Sunday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Universities. Points: Universities 6. Northern District 0.

Second Grade: St George Sutherland 6-224 off 48.5 overs (Amy Wills 86, Helen Williams 44; Renee Bennett 2-18) defeated Universities 9-222 off 50 overs (Rachel Li 85,  Zoe Benjamin 41; Renee Bennett 2-18) by four wickets at David Phillips North on Sunday. Toss: St George0-Sutherland. Batted first: Universities. Points: St George Sutherland 6, Universities 0.

Third Grade: Campbelltown-Camden 2-174 off 24 overs defeated Universities Blue 74 off 25 overs by 100 runs at Tonbridge Park on Saturday.