As a result of another outstanding year for the Sydney University Boat Club (SUBC), the Club and its members have been nominated for a number of awards. These include;

Rowing Australia Awards:

  • Club of the Year – SUBC
  • Volunteer of the Year – Chris Noel
  • Male Pathway Athlete – Andrew Judge/Jack O’Brien
  • Female Pathway Athlete – Wallis Russell
  • Pathway Coach of the Year – Don McLachlan

World Rowing Awards: 

  • Men’s Crew of the Year – Australian Men’s Four (Jack Hargreaves)

NSWIS Awards:

  • Program of the Year – Rowing 

In addition to these well-deserved nominations, the following SUBC athletes have been invited to the Men’s National Training Centre in Canberra. The Training Centre;

  • David Bartholot
  • Jack O’Brien 
  • Cameron Girdlestone 

They join the following SUBC athletes already based at the National Training Centres;

  • Campbell Watts (Silver, Men’s Quad, World Championships)
  • Jack Hargreaves (Gold, Men’s Four, World Championships)
  • Nick Purnell (Silver, Men’s Eight, World Championships)
  • Alex Purnell (Silver, Men’s Quad, World Championships)
  • Georgie Gotch (Bronze, Women’s Eight, World Championships)
  • Genevieve Horton (Women’s Quad, World Championships)

This all caps off the greatest year in the history of the club, after winning basically everything on offer in terms of Australian Rowing and University Rowing for the men and women;

  • National Championships – Overall Club Pointscore Champions
  • UniSport Nationals – Men’s Pointscore, Women’s Pointscore, Overall Pointscore
  • Australian Boat Race – Bella Guerin Trophy & Edmund Barton Trophy