A three-goal final term helped UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs come from behind to claim the 2018 Sydney Men’s Premier Division Australian Football flag at Blacktown International Sportspark on Saturday.

The Bulldogs trailed Sydney University by 10 points – 44-34 – at the end of the third quarter but kicked three goals and six behinds in the final term to run out 58-55 winners in a nail-biting affair.

James Pascoe and Jesse Aish each kick two goals for the winners, while Harry Morrison kicked three and Matthew Nettheim goaled twice for the Varsity.

The Students led 16-15 at the end of the first term and 37-16 at the main break but could not stymie the Bulldogs at the business end.

Sydney University also went down in the Reserve Division and Division One and Division Two grand finals.

Pennant Hills Demons came from sixth on the ladder at the end of the competition proper to claim the Reserve Division crown 60-45.

Kieran Wright kicked three goals and Lukas de Vries landed two for the winners.

Pennant Hills won the Division One flag with a 54-46 scoreline over Sydney University.

Shaun O’Regan kicked three goals and Charles Allison landed two for the winners while Joshua Cutrupi landed two for the Students.

UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs claimed the Division Two flag with a 45-27 win over Sydney University.

It was left up to Sydney University’s Division Three side to claim a title. They accounted for Camden Cats 54-8 at Blacktown International Sportspark on Sunday. Josh Toyer, Nathan Barnard and Jacob Reddie each kicked two goals for the Students.



Sydney Men’s Premier Division – Grand Finals

Premier Division: UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs 8.10: 58 (James Pascoe 2, Jesse Aish 2, Steven Pollock, Matthew Rawlinson, Zachary Cameron, Thomas Banuelos) defeated Sydney University 7.13: 55 (Harry Morrison 3, Matthew Nettheim 2, Tristan Davies, Samuel Gilfedder) at Blacktown International Sportspark on Saturday.

Best players

UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs: Zachary Cameron, Jesse Aish, Darren Pfeiffer, Luke Essenstam, Kaia Reynolds-Erler, Darcy Cordell

Sydney University:  Nicholas Bertino, Harry Morrison, Adam Birman, Marcus Valastro, Allister Clarke, David Johnson.


Reserve Division: Pennant Hills Demons 7.18: 60 (Anthony Brawn 3, Jake Gunstone 2, Harry Maguire, Drew Messenger) defeated  Sydney University 6.9: 49 (Oliver Wetzlar, Braydon Pilot, Nik Dale, Tom Dunlop, Sebastian Trevaskis, Jack Fox) at Blacktown International Sportspark on Saturday – 10am bounce.

Best players

Pennant Hills Demons:  Kieran Wright, Lukas de Vries, Harry Maguire, Patrick Witt, Mitchell Blow, Oliver Williams.

Sydney University: Jack Fox, Christopher Reichman, Bailey Scotney, Sebastian Trevaskis, Nicholas Bowen, Oliver Wetzlar.


Division One: Pennant Hills Demons 8.6: 54 (Shaun O’Regan 3, Charles Allison 2, Evan Danilo, Anthony Woodward, Fraser Nixon) defeated Sydney University 6.10: 46 (Joshua Cutrupi 2, Samuel Jensen, Ned Rohrt, Gabriel Robbie, John Walsh) at
Blacktown International Sportspark on 8 September.

Best Players

Pennant Hills Demons: Charles Allison, Adam Smith, Shaun O’Regan, Harry Rivers, Harrison Gregor, David Smith

Sydney University: Jack O’Halloran, Oscar Gibbins, Oliver Young, Tom Morrison, James Nettle, Sacha Willesee.


Division Two: UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs 6.9: 45 (Timothy O’Donnell 2, Tom Williamson, Daniel Seeff, Finnius Mergler, Mark Cullen) defeated Sydney University 4.3: 27 (Andrew Kraefft, Joshua Flanagan, Luke Hayward, Jason Cheah) at Blacktown International Sportspark on Sunday.

Best players

UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs:  Ian Bacon, Timothy O’Donnell, Thomas Falvey, Kyal Pocock, Daniel Seeff, Benjamin Eddy.

Sydney University: Aron Everett, Ben Fitzpatrick, Joshua Flanagan, Sebastian Fotea, Luke Hayward, Chris Mohen.


Division Three: Sydney University 7.12: 54 (Joshua Toyer 2, Nathan Barnard 2, Jacob Reddie 2, Harry Campbell-Ross) defeated Camden Cats 1.2: 8 at Blacktown International Sportspark on Sunday.

Best players

Sydney University: Jacob Reddie, Joshua Toyer, David Drentin, Dugald Shannon, Chas Wilkinson, Nicholas Bailey.

Camden Cats: Teejay Hoch, Daniel McKay, Benjamin Grasso, Lochlan Tipper, John Murtagh, Michael Morgan.