Image: Matt Corby

Sydney University are three wins away from a NEAFL title having finished the competition proper in third place after a comprehensive 109-point win over Northern Territory Thunder at Blacktown International Sportspark last Saturday.

The Students will take on Canberra Demons in an elimination final at Blacktown International Sportspark on Saturday. The other elimination final will be between Aspley and Brisbane at Graham Road on Saturday.

Southport finished the competition proper on 48 points to collect the NEAFL minor premiership, with Sydney (48), Sydney University (48), Aspley (48), Brisbane (42) and Canberra (40) making up the top six.

Sydney University kicked 19 majors against the Thunder, with Tom Young nailing four and Jacob Derickx posting three in a positive showing going into the finals.

Meanwhile, Sydney University will meet Manly Warringah Wolves in a Sydney Premier Division competition semi-final at Blacktown International Sportspark this Sunday at 3pm.

The Students lost their elimination final 85-71 to UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs at Henson Park on Sunday but earnt another chance by finishing third on the ladder.

Sydney University Reserve Grade will meet Pennant Hills Demons in a semi-final on Saturday, with UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs and North Shore Bombers fighting out the other semi-final.

The Students are also alive in the Division One, Division Two and Division Three competitions, with semi-finals against Pennant Hills Demons in Division One, and UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs in Divisions Two and Three.

Sydney University’s Under 19 Division One side bowed out of the premiership hunt with a 92-35 loss to North Shore Bombers in their semi-final at Kanebridge Oval on Saturday.



Australian Football

NEAFL Round 21

Sydney University 19.10: 133 (Tom Young 4, Jacob Derickx 3, Craig Bird 2, Callum McFadden 2, Austin Lucy 2, Tristan Davies, Jack Dimery, Adam Gulden, Damien Bonney, Lewis Stevenson, Ned Reinhard) defeated Northern Territory Thunder 3.6: 24 (Ryan Smith, Michael Mummery, Christopher Williams) at Blacktown International Sportspark on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University:  Craig Bird, Callum McFadden, Timothy Barton, Tom Young, Jake Bartholomaeus, Nicholas Foster.

NT Thunder: Benjamin Rioli, Abraham Ankers, Cameron Ilett, Thomas Davies, Samuel Smith.


Sydney Men’s Premier Division – Elimination Finals

Premier Division: UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs 13.7: 85 defeated Sydney University 10.11: 71 at Henson Park on Sunday.

Sydney University to meet Manly Warringah Wolves in the minor semi-final at Blacktown International Sportspark this Sunday at 3pm.



Division One: Pennant Hills Demons 9.3: 57 (Peter Carey 4, Jake Gunstone 2, Charles Allison, Jack Leedham, Shaun O’Regan) defeated Sydney University 7.12: 54 (Gabriel Robbie 2, Ned Rohrt, Joshua Cutrupi, Gordon Willis, Tommy Doyle, Jack O’Halloran) at Rosedale Park on Saturday.

Best players

Pennant Hills: Adam Smith, Jake Gunstone, Shaun O’Regan, Charles Allison, Patrick De La Mare, Peter Carey.

Sydney University: Samuel Power, Brent Pollock, Jack Hollywood, Hugh Greenwood, Luke Astri, Samuel Prendergast.


Elimination Finals


Division Three: Sydney University 8.10: 58 (Joshua Toyer 2, Alex Antoniazi, Jacob Reddie, Nathan Barnard, Harry Campbell-Ross, Gus Stephenson, Tom Whitehead) defeated UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs 1.9: 15 (Tom Roberts) at Kanebridge Oval on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University:  Charles Goodsir, Paul Chidrawi, Clinton Cole, Joshua Toyer, Matthew Wonders, Nathan Barnard.

UNSW Eastern Suburbs Bulldogs: Michael Drummond, Tom Roberts, Yannick Lecordier, Joshua Martin, Cameron Phasey, Gabriel McCauley.



Under 19 Division One: North Shore Bombers 13.14: 92 (Nick Hill 4, Oscar Bird 3, Joseph Potter 2, Jack Puncher, Pierce Roseby, Angus Rankin, Clarence Barker) defeated Sydney University 5.5: 35 ( Luke Gallen 2, Wesley Greenaway, Thomas Linfield-Kent, Andreas Apostolou) at Kanebridge Oval on Saturday.

Best players

North Shore: Pierce Roseby, Mitchell Crisafulli, Rory Barkley, Adam Bastas, Nick Hill, Luke Lawrence.

Sydney University:  Wesley Greenaway, Matthew Dyster, Damien Dickson, Blake Byrne, Hugh Blanchfield, Josef Wilks.