Aon 7s Sydney University squad announcement

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Aon 7s Sydney University squad announcement

With only three weeks until the Aon Uni 7s Series kicks off for 2018, the University of Sydney is proud to announce its inaugural team;

  1. Claudia Bell
  2. Tiarne Cavanagh
  3. Freya Clayhills
  4. Susannah Cooke
  5. Majada Darcy
  6. Kimberley Davey
  7. Kobe Dymock
  8. Ashleigh Fong
  9. Holly Gavin
  10. Sydney Gregson
  11. Kirrily Laws
  12. Tamyka Laws
  13. Jemima McCalman
  14. Claudia McLaren
  15. Chantelle Miell
  16. Jordan Parsonage
  17. Leanne Toomalatai
  18. Brittney Vanderhart
  19. Matilda Vaughan Fowler
  20. Barbara Waddell
  21. Emma Wade
  22. Olivia White
  23. Jakiya Whitfeld
  24. Iliseva Batibasaga

Sydney University Women’s Rugby Club’s Fi Jones unfortunately withdrew from the team due to Wallaroos commitments, with the announcement Iliseva Batibasaga will replace her as the 24th member of the squad. 

James Barkell will be at the helm as Head Coach, with Tim Rowland taking care of Strength & Conditioning. He will be joined by fellow S&C coach, Nicola Furlan. The Team Physio is Elizabeth Donnelly, and Team Manager, Chelsea Harris.

In its second year, the newly-expanded five-round tournament will see 10 universities from around Australia contend the title. The University of Sydney will indeed be looking to make an impact in its first season in the series. 

“Sydney Uni is new to the Uni7s competition this season but they bring plenty of rugby pedigree in their competition debut,” Rugby Australia said in its announcement of this year’s teams. 

“They have some experienced XVs and Sevens players in thier ranks but also a Ninja Warrior semi-finalists in Emma Woods.”

“While we will be the new kids on the block this year we have set our sights on top four finishes at each tournament,” Sydney University Rugby’s Stephen Bennie said.

“We definitely have the squad to do this but the question will be if our preparation will have been enough in the short window of time we have had with the girls.”

The series launch will take place later in this month, with the opening round scheduled for August 25-26 at the University of Tasmania, Hobart.