On Wednesday 11 April, Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness hosted the 2017 Sports Awards in the Great Hall.

With the 2018 Commonwealth Games in full swing, there was an electric buzz surrounding the evening that honoured the exceptional achievements of Sydney University’s sporting clubs and athletes in 2017, and recognised new scholarship holders for 2018.


In a year of outstanding performances, Wallis Russell (Boat) and Belinda Snell (Brydens Sydney Uni Flames) shared the 2017 Female Sportswoman of the Year award, while Anthony Hrysanthos (Water Polo) was named Sportsman of the Year.

Wallis is a talented rower, who despite still being classified as a Junior (U19) in 2017, competed in U23 and Open Aged events with distinction. She was a member of the winning Women’s Eight from Sydney University Boat Club at the prestigious Gold Cup regatta and competed for the Sydney University Women’s crew in the Australian Boat Race, winning the Bella Guerin trophy for the first time. Wallis was also selected in the 2017 Australian Rowing team in the U23 Lightweight Women’s Quadruple Scull, who placed 6th at the World Championships.

Brydens Sydney Uni Flames Captain, Belinda Snell could not be there on the night to accept her award as she was competing at the Commonwealth Games with the gold medal winning Australian Opals. Snell is a three-time Olympic medallist, a FIBA World Championship gold medallist and a two-time Commonwealth Games gold medallist. She captained the Flames to the 2016/17 WNBL Championship and was also named the University of Sydney Female Blue of the Year for 2017.

Sydney University Men’s Water Polo Club goalkeeper, Anthony Hrysanthos (pictured), had an outstanding season both nationally and internationally. He was selected in the Australian side, competing in a number of tournaments ahead of the FINA World Championships where Australia finished 7th. He was an integral member of the Sydney University National League team, who won the minor premiership and finished the season as runners up. He was also selected on the Green and Gold team at the 2017 Australian University Games. A month after Hrysanthos was named 2017 Sportsman of the Year, he with Sydney University Men’s Water Polo Club won the 2018 National Water Polo League men’s title. Hrysanthos was duly awarded the Tom Hoad Medal for Most Valuable Player of the Finals Series.

Demonstrating the all-round strength of the University’s sporting clubs, there were highly successful candidates in all categories.

  • Vice Chancellor’s Participation Program of the Year – Student League – Sydney Uni Touch Football Club
  • The Pat Sharp Female Club Administrator of the Year Tina Gao – Taekwondo
  • The Rosenblum Male Club Administrator of the Year Chas Wilkinson – AFL Men
  • The Professional Administrator of the Year Award Dustyn Butler – Boat
  • The Ann Mitchell Award for the Most Outstanding Performance at the Australian University Games – Boat
  • Club of the Year – Netball
  • Premier Club of the Year – Boat and Brydens Sydney Uni Flames
  • Coach of the Year Andrew Ogborne – American Football
  • Premier Coach of the Year – Alfie Young (Boat) and Cheryl Chambers (Flames)


A new addition to the Sports Awards this year was the Vice-Chancellor’s Participation Program of the Year. This award was introduced to acknowledge programs that provide Sydney University students with the opportunity to get involved, engage in an active lifestyle and increase their student experience.

In a field that included Sydney Uni Basketball Club’s Basketball League and Sydney Uni Sport and Fitness’ Social Netball Competition, it was Sydney Uni Touch Football Club’s Student League that took out the inaugural award.

Continually growing, the league currently has 192 University of Sydney students competing socially and competitively, and is widely enjoyed by all participants.

Congratulations to all award winners who join the prestigious honour roll of sporting excellence at Sydney University.