Sydney University’s women’s and men’s teams have plenty at stake when they contests the National Water Polo League titles at Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre this Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

The University’s women’s team will be shooting for a third consecutive NWPL title, but will have to come from fourth position to achieve the feat.

UNSW-Wests headed the women’s ladder, with Drummoyne Devils, Cronulla Sharks, Sydney University, Queensland Breakers and Fremantle Marlins making up the top six.

Sydney University will meet Queensland Breakers at 7.30pm tomorrow (Friday) night to earn a semi-final berth on Saturday and, hopefully, a berth in the final scheduled for 1.30 on Sunday afternoon.

Meanwhile, the University’s men’s team hope to erase memories of the 2016-17 series, when they finished minor premiers only to be defeated 6-5 by UNSW-Wests Tigers in a nail-biting final.

They went through the 2017-18 season undefeated, with 19 wins and a draw, to claim the minor premiership, ahead of Fremantle Mariners, Hunter Hurricanes, Cronulla Sharks, UNSW-Wests Magpies and Drummoyne Devils.

And that’s given them a stepping stone straight through to the semi-finals at 3pm on Saturday afternoon.

A win there will put them in the final at 3pm on Sunday afternoon.

Both University teams are united in winning back-to-back Peter Kerr Cups at the Club Champions for 2017-18.

The NWPL’s men’s competition began in 1990 and was dominated by Victorian Tigers, Cronulla Sharks and Fremantle Mariners for the first decade.

Sydney University Lions broke through for their first NWPL title in 2002 and successfully defended their title in 2003 to become the fourth team in NWPL history to win back-to-back titles.

Brisbane Barracudas claimed their first title win in 2004 while Sydney University went on to win their third title in 2005.

The NWPL women’s competition began in 2004 with a 12-team competition. Fremantle made it three from four in 2007 and   four from five in 2008.

Sydney University will be setting a new standard should they win a third consecutive crown this year.