SUSC recognise member achievements for 2017

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. SUSC recognise member achievements for 2017

On Saturday 18 November the Sydney University Swimming Club (SUSC) held their annual presentation night to recognise the outstanding efforts of club members throughout the year.

During the year, 43 long course swimming club records were broken – which is an indication of the strength and ability of the current crop of swimmers.

The Club’s age champions as well as our metropolitan, state and national swimmers were recognised.

There are three major perpetual awards which are named in honour of long standing coaches who have served at the University:

Steve Alderman Award

Stephen Alderman was head swimming coach at SUSF until 2010. Since inception, the award has been recognition of an outstanding swimmer as recognised through their peers. The winner this year was Jonah De Groot.

Sutto Award

Brian Sutton was a coach at SUSF who established SUSC in 1998. The award goes to a swimmer who has shown consistent commitment to training and club events over the past season and supports team members. The winner of the award receives a trophy and the name of the winner is engraved on the shield for this perpetual award.

The winner of the Sutto Award for 2017 was Soraya Newlyn.

Garry Lennon Scholarship

Garry Lennon was a dedicated swimming coach at SUSF until his untimely death in January, 2003. SUSF annually funds two scholarships in his name for swimmers. The Garry Lennon Scholarship provides funds for SUSF swimming tuition, as well as entry fees for Metropolitan, State and National
Championships for the following calendar year for one girl and one boy, based on achievement.

The male winner of the Gary Lennon Scholarship was Zachary Izzard, and the female winner of the Gary Lennon Scholarship was Scarlett Deas.