Men’s and Women’s eights from the universities of Sydney and Melbourne will meet on The Yarra River for the Annual Australian Boat race on Sunday morning, 22 October 2017.

Over recent years Sydney has dominated the men’s race and Melbourne is unbeaten in the modern era since 2010 in the women’s race.

This year, Dyonne Bettaga has been named Captain of the Sydney University Women’s crew and Will Raven as Captain of the Men’s. The team list is as follows;

Women’s: Rebecca Harrison (Cox), Wallis Russell, Georgie Masters, Dyone Bettega, Emma Fessey, Harriet Hudson, Carina Simpson (Graduate), Laura Triggs, Elizabeth Treloar and Jaime Ford (Reserve).

Men’s: Will Raven (Cox), Cam Girdlestone, Sasha Belonogoff, Leon Chambers. Jake Bicknell, Andrew Judge, Devlin Wals, Marcus Britt, Jack Hanley and Morgan Brooking (Reserve). 

Sydney University Boat Club’s Men’s Eight preparing for the 2017 Australian Boat Race.

The Yarra course begins in Toorak and the crews will race into the city finishing just before Princes Bridge.

The course will pass under six bridges starting with the Church St bridge in Toorak just after the start. Crews will pass a number of landmarks including AAMI Stadium, the MCG, Federation Square, Boathouse Drive, Flinders St Station, Federation Square. The course length is approximately 4.5 km.

This course was first used for the modern Australian Boat Race in 2013 when there was a controversial clash in the men’s race which put Sydney out of contention.

Australian Boat Race Course details


Church/Chapel Street Bridge – Shared Arch:   1100m Distance from start –

South Station- South of Centre Arch; North Station-North of Centre arch

Cremorne Railway Bridge – Shared Arch:   1450 m

South Station- South of Centre Arch; North Station-North of Centre arch

Punt Road Bridge:    2100m

South Station- Centre Arch; North Station-North Arch

Morrel Bridge – Shared Arch:   2400m

South Station- South of Centre Arch; North Station-North of Centre arch

Swan Street Bridge:   3300 m

Judges Box   3700m

Melbourne University Boat Club  –   4000 m

South Station-South Arch; North- Centre Arch

Princes Bridge – Shared Arch:   4500m

South Station- South of Centre Arch; North Station-North

Australian Boat Race Yarra Course – Major Marks and Distances

Start to :

Top Herring Island                                                         500m

Bottom Herring Island                                                  700m

Chapel St Bridge                                                            1100m

Cremorne Bridge                                                           1450m

Punt Road Bridge                                                           2100m

Morrell Bridge                                                                2400m

Swan St Bridge                                                               3300m

Judges Box (traditional Upper Yarra course)             3700m

MUBC                                                                               4000m

Finish                                                                                4200m

More here