Sydney University’s Premier women’s team might have bowed out in the preliminary final of the PS4 NPL competition last month, but a new season awaits 11 players and two coaches.

They’ll be involved with a number of nine clubs in the W-League, the top division women’s football league in Australia, conducted by the FFA, which runs from November to February.

Now in its 10th season, the W-League has gone from strength to strength since it was inaugurated in 2008.

Teams competing in this year’s 14-round competition include Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar, Canberra United, Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory, Sydney FC and Western Sydney Wanderers.

Sydney University players signed up to play are Georgia Boric, Nickoletta Flannery, Clare Hunt, Georgia Plessas, Liana Danaskos and Amy Sayer with Canberra United; Rachael Soutar, Georgia Yeoman-Dale and Melissa Caceres with Sydney FC; Clare Wheeler with Newcastle Jets; and Kendall Fletcher with Western Sydney Wanderers; while Heather Garriock has been signed to coach Canberra United with Alex Epakis as her assistant coach.

Round one will kick off this Friday with Sydney FC up against Brisbane Roar at Allianz Stadium and Perth Glory taking on Melbourne City at NIB Stadium; Melbourne Victory up against Canberra United at Epping Stadium on Saturday; and Newcastle Jets taking on Western Sydney Wanderers at McDonald Jones Stadium on Sunday.

The winner of the regular season tournament is dubbed “premier” and the winner of the grand final is the “champion”.

Canberra United, the defending Premiers are chasing back-to-back titles, while defending Champions Melbourne City are chasing a third consecutive title.