Grand final berth for women’s side

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Grand final berth for women’s side

Sydney University’s women’s rugby union side made it through to the grand final of the Jack Scott Cup, Sydney’s Premier competition, with a 37-nil win over Campbelltown in the semi-final on Saturday.

The Students, who went through the season proper undefeated to take out the minor premiership, swept aside Campbelltown in a seven-try demolition at Sydney University Football Ground.

They’ll meet Warringah in the grand final at Boronia Park this Saturday after the second-placed Rats accounted for fourth-placed Parramatta 34-7 in the other semi-final.

Winger Natalie Crow scored two of Sydney University’s tries, with centres Kimberley Davey and Barbara Waddell, winger Bronte Stutchbury, halfback Iliseva Batibiasaga and second-rower Marjorie Linares also collecting five-pointers. Five-eighth Jade Fonua converted two of the tries.

The Students have an extra incentive to win the major premiership on Saturday – to send team-mates Ashleigh Hewson and Grace Hamilton off the World Cup with a title under the belts.

Hewson and Hamilton have been selected in the 28-woman Australian squad to contest the 2017 Rugby World Cup in Ireland in August.

Hewson, who captained the Wallaroos on their recent New Zealand tour, needs just two more points to become the highest pointscorer in Wallaroos history. The five-eighth/fullback is on 64 points, one behind former winger Tricia Brown, who finished her career with 65 points.

Backrower Hamilton, who hails from Panuara in the NSW Central West, started playing rugby while on a university exchange to the US.

She was selected in the Sydney team in 2014 and won Wallaroo selection on the recent tour to New Zealand.

The Wallaroo squad will convene in Sydney at the end of July for a three-day camp, ahead of flying out for Ireland on August 1.

The Wallaroos are in Pool C alongside hosts Ireland, as well as France and Japan.

They’ll play their three pool matches at University College Dublin, meeting Ireland on August 10, France on August 14, and Japan on August 18.