Sydney University women’s First XV secured the minor premiership in the Premier Sydney Rugby Union competition with an 18-14 win over Warringah in the final round of the competition proper on Saturday.

In a record-breaking year, the team went through the 14-round competition undefeated, clocking up 451 points, including 74 tries, while conceding just 29 points.

Indeed, the team went to Round 8 without conceding a point, starting the season with a 40-nil win over Waverley, followed by a 40-nil result over Campbelltown, a 40-nil win over Wollongong University, a bye, a 40-nil win over Waverley, a 40-nil win over Wollongong University, and a 40-nil win over Campbelltown before a 45-5 result over Parramatta.

They then defeated Blacktown 39-nil, had a bye, defeated Parramatta 40-nil, Warringah 46-17, received a forfeit from Blacktown and closed out the season proper with a nail-biting 18-14 win over Warringah.

Of the 74 tries Sydney University scored during the season, Iliseva Batibasaga led the way with 15, with Kimberley Davey posting 10, Grace Hamilton scoring eight and Emily Chancellor scoring seven. Ashleigh Hewson converted 40 of the tries and added two penalty goals for an 86-point season to date.

Sydney University finished the competition proper on 59 points, including 11 bonus points, with Warringah (47), Parramatta (38) and Campbelltown (28) making up the top four.

The Students will host third-placed Campbelltown in one semi-final at Sydney University Football Ground this Saturday, while second-placed Warringah will meet fourth-placed Parramatta at St John’s College Oval in the other semi-final on Saturday.

The grand final will be played at Boronia Park, Hunters Hill, on Saturday, July 29.



Sydney Women’s Premier Grade – Round 14

First Grade: Sydney University 18 (Grace Hamilton, Kimberley Davie tries; Ashleigh Hewson goal, 2 pen goals) defeated Warringah 14 (Amy Turner, Sarah Oxley tries; Chloe Peaupepe 2 goals) at Pittwater Rugby Park on Saturday.

Sydney Men’s Premier Grade competition – Round 15

First Grade: Warringah 35 (Rory O’Connor, Joshua Holmes, Harry Jones, Sebastian Wileman tries; Hamish Angus 3 goals, 3 pen goals) defeated Sydney University 20 (Chris Ingate, Mitch Whiteley tries; Christian Kagiassis 2 goals, 2 pen goals) at Pittwater Rugby on Saturday.

Second Grade: Warringah 36 (Tueti Ati 2, Michael Adams, Sireli Tagicakibau, Scott Bradley tries; Myles Dorrian 4 goals, pen goal) defeated Sydney University 22 (James Kane 2, Alex Batho, Stewart Nutt tries; James Kane goal) at Pittwater Rugby on Saturday.

Third Grade: Warringah 35 (Roy Vucago, Samuel Redi, Max Jones, Jordan Fowles, Louis Anderson tries; Louis Anderson 5 goals) defeated Sydney University 19 (2 pen tries, Jack Blair) at Pittwater Rugby on Saturday.

Fourth Grade: Sydney University 14 (Matthew Dowsett 2 tries; Sam Renton 2 goals) defeated Warringah 8 (Ben Benson try; Ethan Borula pen goal) at Pittwater Rugby on Saturday.


First Grade: Sydney University 33 (Daniel Calavassy 2, Ratu Rotuisolia, Tim Lilomaiavia, ??? tries Joshua Hardie 4 goals) defeated Warringah 27 (Luke Milham, Timothy White, Jack McGuire, Ben Woollett tries; Andy Lloyd 2 goals, pen goal) at Pittwater Rugby on Saturday.

Second Grade: Sydney University 43 (Ethan Miller 2, Sean Hasegawa, Rory Suttor, Patrick Calavassy, Harry Croker, Silas Lawther tries; Joshua Hardie 2 goals, Sean Anese 2 goals) defeated Warringah 0 Sydney University at Pittwater Rugby on Saturday.

Third Grade: Sydney University 22 (Luke Porter, William Wennerbom, Tavena Koroisau, Riley Alcorn tries; William Wennerbom goal) defeated Warringah 17 (Mason Binge, Bryton Caldwell, Angus Bailey tries; Jaidyn Ma’afu goal) at Pittwater Rugby on Saturday.