Sydney University Lions have created history by becoming the first club to claim both the men’s and women’s minor premiership in the NWPL. Sydney Uni Women’s Water Polo finished 20 points clear of the second placed Queensland Breakers in the League’s final standings, while the Men finished six points ahead of ACU Cronulla Sharks and seven points ahead of UNSW Wests Magpies following a tough fought race to the finish. 

At the weekend, the women’s side recorded two victories against the Drummoyne Devils (18-3) and UTS Balmain Tigers (10-9), while the men’s side secured the minor premiership with an emphatic 10-3 win over the Devils and a 7-3 win over the Tigers. 

In the NSW Water Polo Metro Competition, Sydney Uni’s men’s teams claimed the M1, M2 and M3 titles, marking the first time the club has won all three grades since the mid-1980s.

Heading into the Finals undefeated, Sydney Uni Women’s Water Polo have been rewarded with six Lions being named in the Australian Stingers Squad: Isobel Bishop, Hannah Buckling, Brooke Dickie, Keesja Gofers, Tilly Kearns and Lea Yanitsas. The in-form defending premiers will be looking for back-to-back NWPL Championship wins after taking out the title last year against the Brisbane Barracudas.

This weekend, Sydney Uni Men’s Water Polo will take on the lowest ranked winner of the Elimination Finals on Saturday, with the winner heading straight to Sunday’s Grand Final. The losing team will play for the Bronze medal on Sunday. Similarly, Sydney Uni Women’s Water Polo team will play the lowest ranked winner of the Elimination Finals on Saturday. The winner will play in Sunday’s Grand Final while the losing team will play for Bronze on Sunday. More information on the Finals format here

The Finals series will be held at Pymble Ladies College Aquatic Centre with tickets available at the door. Details available here