Sydney University claimed the minor premiership in the premier Sydney grade cricket competition with a three-wicket win over Bankstown in the final round on Saturday.

In a rain-shortened limited overs fixture at Bankstown Memorial Oval, Sydney University scored 7-117 off 20.5 overs to rein in the host’s 7-115 off 21 overs.

Skipper Nick Larkin top-scored with 49, while Liam Robertson contributed 26 for the Students, with Thomas Sowden collecting 4-16 for the hosts.

Having been sent in on their home wicket, Philip Wells (28) and Brendan Smith (20 not out) were the main contributors, with leg-spinner Devlin Malone collecting 3-27 for Sydney University.

In a tightly-fought 15 rounds of the competition proper, Sydney University finished first on quotient on 67 points from Gordon (67), with Bankstown (57), Parramatta (54), Sydney (54) and Penrith (53) making up the top six to fight out the Belvidere Cup.

Sydney University will meet Penrith in a two-day qualifying final at Sydney University Oval this Saturday and Sunday, with 10am starts on both days.

The other qualifying finals will be between Gordon and Penrith at and Chatswood Oval, and Bankstown and Parramatta at Bankstown Memorial Oval.

Sydney University scored bonus points wins in Second and Third grades at the weekend, but lost Fourth and Fifth grades.

That left Northern District as the Club Champions for 2016-17 on 1327 points, with Sydney University and Sydney on 1308 points.

Sydney University Second’s bonus point win over Bankstown at University Oval on Saturday just failed to earn them a qualifying final berth.

Sydney collected the Abert Cup Second Grade minor premiership on 83 points, with UNSW (71), Northern District (60), Mosman (54), Manly-Warringah (52) and Gordon (50) making up the top six. Sydney University also finished on 50 points but missed out on quotient.

Sydney University Thirds won the minor premiership in the Mitchell Cup, finishing on 72 points. St George (61), Northern District (56), Mosman (56), Western Suburbs (56) and Penrith (55) making up the top six.

Sydney headed the Fourth Grade ladder on 80 points at the end of the competition proper in the Reid Cup. Northern District (73), Gordon (60), St George (56), Sydney University (56) and Manly-Warringah (50) made up the top six.

Sydney University Fifth Grade finished 13th on the David Sherwood Cup ladder. Gordon collected the minor premiership on 63 points, with St George (61), Penrith (59), Randwick-Petersham (59), Northern District (56) and Mosman (49) making up the top six.

Sydney University’s Metropolitan Cup grabbed third place on the ladder going into the qualifying finals.

Gordon won the minor premiership on 72 points, with Penrith (66), Sydney University (46), Randwick-Petersham Gold (46), Eastern Suburbs (42) and Blacktown (31) making up the top six.


Sydney Men’s Premier competition Round 15 (50 over matches)

First Grade (Rain reduced to 21 overs): Sydney University 7-117 off 20.5 overs (Nick Larkin 49, Liam Robertson 26; Thomas Sowden 4-16) defeated Bankstown 7-115 off 21 overs Philip Wells 28, Brendan Smith 20 not out; Devlin Malone 3-27) by three wickets at Bankstown Memorial Oval on Sydney. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Bankstown. Points: Sydney University 6, Bankstown 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 3-187 off 28.3 overs (Will Hay 82, David Miller 67 not out; Dayne Heward 1-22, Matthew Smith 1-27) defeated Bankstown 186 off 43.3 overs (Chris Ridley 62 not out, Jehan Bilimoria 36; Kieran Elley 4-24, Jonathon Craig Dobson 4-29) by seven wickets, with a bonus point, at Sydney University Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Bankstown. Points: Sydney University 7, Bankstown 0.

Third Grade: Sydney University 2-131 off 27.5 overs (Kevin Jacob 68 not out, Alexander Shaw 44; Damien Loy 1-8) defeated Bankstown 130 off 41.5 overs (Jacob Malcolm 35, Cameron Middleton  24; Josh Toyer 3-38, Henry Clark 2-7) by eight wickets, with a bonus point, at Jensen Park on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Bankstown. Points: Sydney University 7, Bankstown 0.

Fourth Grade: Bankstown 6-187 off 49.3 overs (Jackson Isakka 83 not out, Daniel Slane 48; Alasdair Grant 3-30, Angus Cusack 1-22) defeated Sydney University 186 off 49.4 overs Alasdair Grant 47, Cristian Lorenzato 42; Connor Wilkinson 6-48) by four wickets at St Paul’s College Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Bankstown 6, Sydney University 0.

Fifth Grade: Bankstown 6-212 off 50 overs (Matthew Kelly 101 not out, Danny Moy 35 not out, Michael Polson 34; defeated Sydney University 5-211 off 50 overs (Vince Umbers 73, Jake Day 50; David Freedman 2-51) by one run at Grahame Thomas Oval on Saturday. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Bankstown. Points: Bankstown 6, Sydney University 0.  

Metropolitan Cup – Round 15

Sydney University 3-38 off 13.4 overs (Zohirul Islam 18 not out) defeated Georges Rivers 36 off 24.2 overs (Daniel O’Neill 1; Zohirul Islam 4-1, Ethan Clout 4-17) by seven wickets at St Andrew’s Oval on Sunday. Toss Georges River. Batted first: Georges River. Points: Sydney University 6, Georges River 0.

Sydney Women’s Premier competition – Round 10

First Grade: Universities 6-256 off 50 overs (Georgia Redmayne 141, Carly Leeson 49) defeated Campbelltown-Camden 193 off 47.1 overs (Olivia Porter 3-22) by 63 runs with a bonus point, at David Phillips South on Sunday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Universities. Points: Universities 7, Campbelltown-Camden 0.

Second Grade (Round 13): Campbelltown-Camden 225 off 44 overs (Jessica Marsh 46, Megan Clarke 36; Samantha Robinson 2-11, Jess Bellamy 2-27) defeated Universities 9-159 (Anastasia Sims 31, Susan Farrer 20 not out; Bethany Jenkins 3-19, Stephanie Ellsmore 2-6, Yardley Polsen 2-14) by 66 runs, with a bonus point, at Raby Oval on Sunday. Toss: Campbelltown-Camden. Batted first: Campbelltown-Camden. Points: Campbelltown-Camden 7, Universities 0.

Third Grade (Twenty20): Campbelltown-Camden 5-99 off 20 overs (Jessica Langford 30 ret/not out, Sonja Collins 22) defeated Universities 7-86 off 20 overs at Tonbridge Street Reserve on Sunday. Points: Campbelltown-Camden 6.80, Universities .50.

Gordon 3-153 off 20 overs (Jessica Henry ret/not out 31, Nikita Pawar 31 ret/not out, Emma Sherwood 31 not out; Kathryn Murphy 2-30) defeated Universities 6-81 off 20 overs (Erica James 31 ret/not out; Shagufta Barkat 2-3, Kristen Dorsch 2-18) by 71 runs at Forsyth Park on Sunday. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Universities. Points: Gordon 7.30, Universities .30.

Brewer Shield (Under 17) – Round 12 (Limited Overs)

St George-Sutherland 3-187 off 28.3 overs (Mishal Shah 52 ret-not out, Issabella Savelli 50 ret/not out) defeated Universities 55 (Lauren Bissett 3-9, Melody Gleeson 2-6, Mishal Shah 1-4) by 132 runs, with two bonus points, at Harold Fraser Oval on Sunday. Toss: Universities. Batted first: St George-Sutherland. Points: St George-Sutherland 8, Universities .30.