Michael Ambados capped off a strong season by being awarded the 2016 Pollard Chadwick Medal for Sydney University Rugby League Club’s best and fairest player at the annual awards held at the Marrickville Hard Court Tennis Club on Friday night.

The hard-running forward was a consistent performer in the club’s Division One side that made it through to the NSW Tertiary Cup final.

The medal, named after two of the club’s finest former players and supporters, was presented by club patron, Brian Smith and past player Leo Muggleton.

Other Division One awards for the season went to Adam Vrahnos (best forward, leading try-scorer) Jake Vrahnos (leading point-scorer) and Anthony Jury (best back).

Awards in the Division Two ranks went to Kelvin Quinn and Tuariki Matapuku (best forwards), Daniel Rowe (best back), Kelvin Quinn (leading try-scorer) and Dave Turner (leading point-scorer).

First year Sydney University student Charles Slinger was named Rookie of the Year, and Kurt Lewis and Troy Haroyan shared the Clubman of the Year award.

Club Captain for 2016, Myles Fowler, who welcomed guests to the function, said 2016 was a continuation of the development of the club with Division One making it through to the elimination final and Division Two making it to the first round of the finals.

“In a season where we battled with a number of injuries and cancelled games due to weather conditions, this outcome was a respectable achievement,” he said.

“There were a number of moments across the season which defined what it means to play in this club’s jersey. Notably, I can make mention of Charles Slinger, who week in, week out, put his hand up to play in both games and was consistently one of the best performers on the field. The same can be said for Kelvin Quinn and Kurt Lewis.

“Since the start of the club’s resurgence, our major sponsor Rent Fleet Pty Limited has played a crucial role in bringing the club back to where it is today.

“Thanks must also go to Brian Smith. His attendance at games and his input have been greatly appreciated by all of the players and coaches.

“Indeed, thanks to the coaches, Grant Sciberas, Troy Haroyan and Andy Saliba for your time, effort and professionalism.

“And special thanks to Chris Kintis, our club president, for his commitment and dedication to the development of the club. It is second to none. Rugby League is in great hands with someone like Chris, who has great vision and determination to achieve the club’s goals.”

Club President Chris Kintis said 2016 had been a year of achievements tinged with the sadness of the passing of one of the grand old men of the club in Dave Chadwick.

“We now have the first perpetual scholarship in rugby league in his honour, which is a fantastic outcome for our club” he said.

“We also have the first recipient of a business school scholarship which was has been awarded to former New Zealand international Jeremy Smith. Jeremy is a very important person to have involved with the club on a number of levels.

“Since the death of Dave Chadwick in August, past players have contributed to the scholarship, which has been established in his honour.

“He was a stalwart of the club in every sphere; as a player, as a coach and as an administrator.

“He had a vision for the club, and as a 22-year-old he led us up to the Second Division of the NSW Rugby League competition where we competed in the 1960s and ’70s.

“Other teams tried to intimidate our players but they withstood that, and were competitive at that level playing as amateur students against semi-professional players.

“Despite the age differences, the players of that era displayed toughness and no one took a backwards step. That is Dave’s legacy, a  legacy that continues with the players representing the club today.”