Sydney University Women’s Rugby Club claim minor premiership

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Sydney University Women’s Rugby Club claim minor premiership

The Sydney University Women’s Rugby team have won the 2016 minor premiership, with a resounding 43-0 win over fourth placed Waverley on Saturday 23 July, 2016. 

Waverley showed great passion early in front of their home crowd, and on the back of a number of penalties pressed the student’s line. After 15 minutes with little or no possession, Uni kicked deep into the opposition’s territory and mounted some pressure with a great chase, turnover and Josephine Bavatu crossed in the corner.

Uni found Waverley did not like being turned around and pinpoint kicks by Lope Leiataua and Iliseva Batibasaga resulted in further tries, before the play of the day by Sera Naiqama after some great lead up work by the forwards.

At half time Uni were able to relax a little with the bonus point win looking likely and it was much the same story in the second half with another three tries.

“Since the team gathered together 14 rounds ago and were soundly beaten by Parramatta I have been extremely impressed with the commitment shown by all to work hard and build a strong game plan which has culminated in today’s success,” said Coach Phil Brown.

The win sets up a replay against Waverley in the first semi-final scheduled for 1:45pm on Saturday 30th July at Merrylands RSL Park.