Sydney University Football Club contested four of the seven premier rugby union grand finals up for grabs at the weekend and came home with four titles.

Second Grade came from behind in a gripping Colin Caird Shield decider to defeat Randwick 35-34 at Concord Oval on Saturday.

The win set the scene for the three Colts grand finals, all against Randwick, played at Forshaw Rugby Park on Sunday.

Sydney University Thirds opened proceedings with a 10-nil result in the Bill Simpson Shield, Seconds collected the Shell Trophy with a 30-24 win, and Firsts collected the W. McMahon Memorial Shield with a 35-26 result.

It was the fifth time Sydney University Colts have won three premierships on the one day, emulating their efforts in 2003, 2008, 2011 and 2012. And Second Grade Colts made it 10 premierships in a row, starting in 2006.

Unlike the tryless Shute Shield decider in which Eastwood defeated Manly 15-12 in a penalty goal affair, Sydney University and Randwick turned on an exhilarating display of end-to-end rugby in the Second Grade decider.

Despite scoring five tries to four, Randwick lost out to the boot of Byron Hodge, the goal-kicking, Sydney University second-rower who piloted home three conversions and three penalty goals to clinch the win.

Sydney University Second Grade has appeared in the past three grand finals, defeating Eastwood 41-22 in 2013 and losing 34-13 to Manly in 2014.



Sydney Men’s Premier competition – 2015 Grand Finals

First Grade – Shute Shield: Eastwood 15 (Ben Batger 4 pen goals; Jai Ayoub pen goal) d Manly 12 (Matt Lucas 4 pen goals) at Concord Oval on Saturday.

Second Grade – Colin Caird Shield: Sydney University 35 (Chris Ingate 2, Matthew Phillip, James Swan tries; Byron Hodge 3 goals, 3 pen goals) d Randwick 34 ((Tristan Goodbody, Kodie Hawkins, Latu Latinipulu, Chris Taripo, Lewie Catt tries; Chris Taripo 1 goal, 1 penalty goal, Andrew Deegan 1 goal) at Concord Oval on Saturday.

Third Grade – J.R. Henderson Shield: Eastwood 24 d Eastern Suburbs 12.

Fourth Grade – J.R. Henderson Cup: Manly 20 d Eastern Suburbs 10.


First Grade – W. McMahon Memorial Shield: Sydney University 35(Joshua Schwager 2, Harrison Williams, Declan Moore, Nicholas Duffy tries; Christian Kagiassis 2 goals) d Randwick 26 at Forshaw Rugby Park on Sunday.

Second Grade – Shell Trophy: Sydney University 30 (Charles Friend 2, Toby Cooke, Daniel Calavassy tries; James Kane 2 goals, 2 pen goals) d Randwick 24 at Forshaw Rugby Park on Sunday.

Third Grade – Bill Simpson Shield: Sydney University 10 (Tim McCutcheon try; Justin Fish goal, pen goal) d Randwick 0.at Forshaw Rugby Park on Sunday.