Northern Territory Thunder joined Sydney University on the fourth rung of the North East AFL ladder with an eight-point win at Henson Park on Saturday.

The visitors proved too accurate with the boot in the 98-90 result, landing 15 majors in 23 scoring shots. It was a case of what might have been for the hosts, who landed 14 goals in 26 scoring shots.

Darren Ewing led the way for the winners with five goals, with Jonathan Peris and Gibson Turner each kicking two, while Jacob Derickx grabbed three goals for Sydney University, with Jeb Turner, Erol Sertbas, Nicky Winmar each kicking two.

While the win lifted the Thunder to 20 points with Sydney University on the ladder, the Students remain outright fourth on percentages.

UWS Giants (32) retained the lead on 32 points from Aspley (32), with Sydney Swans holding down third place on 28 points after nine rounds. (Sydney University and the Thunder have a round in hand.)

Round 12 of the competition sees a hometown derby with Sydney Swans hosting Sydney University at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Friday night.

The NEAFL fixture kicks off at 4.10pm as a curtain-raiser to the Round 13 match between Sydney Swans and Richmond.


North East AFL – Round 11

Northern Territory Thunder 15.8: 98 (Darren Ewing 5, Jonathan Peris 2, Gibson Turner 2, Shannon Rioli, Dominic Barry, Jack Long, Christopher Dunne, Shaquille McKenzie, Jack Williams) d Sydney University 14.12: 90 (Jacob Derickx 3, Jeb Turner 2, Erol Sertbas 2, Nicholas Winmar 2, Kelvin Barnes, Matthew Powys, Tim Barrett, Matthew Rawlinson) at Henson Park on Saturday.

Best players

NT Thunder: Richard Tambling, Justin Beugelaar, Cameron Ilett, Shannon Rioli, Jonathan Peris, Darren Ewing

Sydney University: Aaron Day, Gabriel Orr, Tom Young, Lewis Stevenson, Jeb Turner, Max Wilson.


Sydney Men’s Premier competition – Round 9

Premier Division: St George Dragons 13.12: 90 (Brayden Kilpatrick 2, Ben Jones 2, Stephen Wilsen 2, Daniel Cooper 2, Jack Hill, Daniel Donohue, Janson Doughty, Blake Guthrie, Eli Prescott) d Sydney University 9.11: 65 (William Stratford 3, Zachary Fyffe 2, Tom Elkington 2, Ben Hawtin, Oscar Osborne) at Henson Park on Saturday.

Best players

St George Dragons: Blake Guthrie, Nathan Kenny, Daniel Rixon, Jordan West, Jake Brown, Brayden Kilpatrick.

Sydney University: Zachary Fyffe, Jacob Swarts, Sam Sleigh, Alister Clarke, Lachlan Maples, Luke Vella.


Division One: Sydney University 7.12: 54 (Harry Bown 3, Liam Huxtable 2, Christopher Kendrick, Andrew MacPherson) d St George Dragons 4.7: 31 (Chris Windle 3, Jack Guthrie) at Henson Park on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University: Harry Bown, Aaron Hawkins, Sam Ryan, Daniel Black, Ben Fitzpatrick, Jarryd Boyd.

St George Dragons: Jack Guthrie, Michael Milner, Donald Hoban, Alexander Brooks, Chris Windle, Riley Orr.


Division Three: Sydney University v Gosford Wildcats at Adcock Park – washed out.


Division Four: Sydney University 12.12: 84 (Luke Girgis 2, Paul Oscar, Hary Murdoch, Timothy Lay) d Blacktown Magic 3.5: 23 (Scott Woods, Anthony Zakroczymski, Fabian McLeod) at Blacktown International Sports Park No.2 on Saturday.

Best players

Sydney University: Leighton Roberts, Michael Fogarty, Jordan Sanders, Jim Beard, Hary Murdoch.

Blacktown Magic: Scott Woods, Jared Clifford, Scott Coombes, Alexander Earle, Benjamin Haywood, Anthony Zakroczymski.


Division Five: Randwick City Saints v Sydney University at Pioneers Park – washed out.


Under 19 Division One: North Shore Bombers 11.7: 73 (Harrison Carr 3, Angus Quail 2, Ned Campbell 2, James Cubis, Angad Roy, Jarrod Steinert, Nicholas Garrick) d Sydney University 6.5: 41 (Oliver Wetzlar 3, Jack Fitzgerald, Harry Harvey, Nicholas Bertino) at Henson Park on Saturday.

Best players

North Shore Bombers: Charles Silvester, Ned Campbell, James Cubis, Angus Baker, James Loneragan, Sudket Fraser-Krause.

Sydney University: Andrew Sierakowski, Samuel Clark, Samuel Coggins, Oliver Wetzlar, William Gowers, James Nettle.


Sydney Women’s Premier competition – Round 8

Sydney University Bombers: Bye