On Wednesday the 15th of June, Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness hosted the 2014 Sports Awards, at the Great Hall. The night celebrated the amazing achievement of athletes last year and recognised new scholarship holders in 2015. 

MC Rebecca Wilson did a beautiful job of guiding guests, athletes, staff and esteemed members and alumnus of the University through the ceremony which started with a welcome from SUSF President Bruce Ross. 

Ross spoke of the longstanding tradition the University holds in producing extremely talented athletes whom also achieve outstanding academic results. This was demonstrated in those students who were awarded Senate Scholarships for academic achievement. 

Senate Scholarships: 

Samuel Colless

Christina Grun 

Nicholas Hough 

Miranda Middleton 

Kathryn Rendell 

Nina Khoury 

Mary Somers 

Jack Blair 

Grace Henry 

Benjamin Lindsay 

Senate Scholarships for outstanding school leavers: 

Anja Cherry 

William North 

Among a flurry of successes for Sydney University was its representation at the Commonwealth Games held in Glasgow in 2014. Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness contributed 20 athletes to the Australian team that competed, returning with six medals, including Angie Ballard who won gold. 

2014 saw Sydney Universities Men’s and Women’s Cricket teams triumph in their respective competitions, while Sydney Uni’s American Football team won the Waratah Bowl. The Women’s AFL team also claimed a premiership in 2014, culminating a 34 match winning streak for Sydney Uniervsity in the Premier Women’s League. Another high achieving club were Athletics who had a stellar season of competition in 2014, winning every open title. 

Demonstrating the all round strength of the Universities sporting clubs, Sydney University also reclaimed the Australian University Games crown in 2014 winning by a record margin, collecting 18 gold pennants. 

Also providing great commentary on the night was Greg O’Mahoney who mediated a panel of athlete interviews during the evening. He spoke with Ella Nelson who has been in career best form in the 200 m sprint, recently beating out champion athlete Sally Pearson at the Australian Track and Field Championships. Alongside her were Australian Rules NEAFL player Tom Young and Waratah and Wallaby Nick Phipps, who spoke about the demands of their respective sports on their body and their current season performance. 

Awards were presented proceeding mains by Vice-Chancellor Michael Spence and other esteemed past athletes and students whom each trophy is named after. Award winners were as follows:

Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarships: 

Katie Rae Ebzery

Kane Townsend

Australian University Sports Awards

Bruce Ross (SUSF President) 

Dean Gleeson (Director of Athletics)

Katie Ebzery (Brydens Sydney Uni Flames)

Pat Sharp Award for Female Clube Administrator of the Year: 

Julie Andrews (Swimming) 

The Rosenblum Family Award for Male Club Administrator of the Year:

Brett McLeod (VELO)

The Professional Adminstrtaor of the Year:

Andrew Heil (Athletics)

The Ann Mitchell Australian University Games Award:



Hockey – Women’s


Soccer – Women’s

Water Polo – Men’s

Club of the Year:

Australian Football – Women’s

Premier Club of the Year:


Coach of the Year: 

Yucel Celenk (Women’s AFL) 

Premier Coach of the Year: 

Mark Prater (Boat) 

Gary Whitaker (Cricket) 

Sportswoman of the Year: 

Lavinia Chrystal (Snow Sports) 

Sportsman of the Year: 

James Dargaville (Rugby) 

Nick Hough (Athletics) 

The night concluded with a toast by Valedictorian Meegan Shepherd, who spoke of the importance of athletes being grateful for all the people behind the scenes who make their sporting and academic achievements possible. Namely coaches, adminstrators, Elite Athlete Program Co-ordinators, family friends and team mates.

We congratulate everyone on a highly successful year, and hope 2015 will bring just as many highlights!  

To view pictures from the evening please click here