Second XI prepare for title defence

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Second XI prepare for title defence

Sydney University Second XI won their way through to the final of the 2014-15 Abert Cup competition with a first innings result over Parramatta at Sydney University No.1 Oval at the weekend.

Ben Trevor-Jones’s patient, unbeaten 63 steered the Students to 5-203 in reply to Parramatta’s 202. His 153-ball stay included seven boundaries.

Steven Hobson (42) and opener Will Hay (41) were also solid contributors for the hosts, while Ben Joy finished with yet another bagful of wickets, this time a 5-45 haul to keep Parramatta to a modest target. Tom Kierath (2-13) and Jim Ryan (2-48) also chipped in with useful wickets.

Sydney University, the 2013-14 Abert Cup winners, led their defence of the title from the beginning of the season to finish with the minor premiership on their way to the final where they’ll meet second-placed Manly-Warringah at Sydney University No.1 Oval on April 4, 5 and 6.

Sydney University Third dipped out of the competition at the weekend when Manly-Warringah won their semi-final clash on the first innings at Bon Andrews Oval, while the Metropolitan Cup XI, the defencing premiers, lost the final to Penrith at Rance Oval on the weekend,


Sydney Men’s Grade Cricket competition – Semi-Finals

Second Grade: Sydney University 5-203 off 71.3 overs (Ben Trevor-Jones 63 not out, Steven Hobson 42, Will Hay 41; James Parkinson 2-53, Christopher Bateup 2-53) d Parramatta 202 off 77.3 overs (Anthony Child 55, James Parkinson 46, Christopher Bateup 32; Ben Joy 5-45, Tom Kierath 2-13, Jim Ryan 2-48) on the first innings at Sydney University No.1 Oval on the weekend. Toss: Parramatta. Batted first: Parramatta.

Second semi-final: Manly-Warringah 243 d Bankstown 227.

Final: Sydney University v Manly-Warringah at Sydney University No.1 Oval on April 4, 5 and 6.

Third Grade: Manly-Warringah 289 off 118.3 overs (Ryan Farrell 91, Adam Gummer 40, Jarrod Rawlings 32, Jordan Daly 32; Kieran Tate 4-54, Udayan Gaur 3-60) d Sydney University 125 off 50.5 overs (James Larkin 41, Jack Holloway 21, Jack Maddocks 21; Jake Cardan 6-20, Thomas Kaye 2-15, Nicholas McCallum-Toomey 2-41) on the first innings at Bon Andrews Oval at the weekend. Toss: Manly-Warringah. Batted first: Manly-Warringah.

Second semi-final: Eastern Suburbs 8(dec)-274 d Penrith 198.

Final: Manly-Warringah v Eastern Suburbs on April 4 and 5.

Other grade finals:

First Grade: Manly-Warringah v Bankstown at North Sydney Oval on April 4, 5 and 6.

Fourth Grade: Sydney v Penrith at Drummoyne Oval on April 4 and 5.

Fifth Grade: Northern District v Manly-Warringah at Mark Taylor Oval on April 4 and 5.

Metropolitan Cup competition – Final

Penrith 252 off 90.3 overs (Lachlan Smith 71, Joshua Dowd 55, Lindsay Smith 42, Tom Sargeant 31; Kobe Carroll 3-96, Bradley Burns 2-18) and 0-88 off 21 overs (Tom Sargeant 45 not out, Brock Balgowan 41 not out) d Sydney University 170 off 75.4 overs (Lachlan Carfax 73, Harris de Krester 37; Alex Henry 5-42, Trent Weir 3-42) on the first innings at Rance Oval at the weekend.

Metropolitan Cup winners for 2014-15: Penrith.