Universities First Grade women’s cricket side suffered their first defeat of the season on Sunday – in the final of the 2014-15 Limited Overs competition.

Bankstown brought Universities winning streak to an end with a 36-run win at North Sydney Oval.

Having won the toss and batted, Bankstown amassed a competitive 8-202 off their 50 overs on the back of sold contributions from Corinne Hall (37), Laura Wright (30), Ashleigh Gardner (29) and Carly Ryan (28). Kate Owen (3-36) and Lynsey Askew (2-25) were the best of the trundlers for the Students.

Universities openers Rachael Haynes and Georgia Redmayne put on a circumspect 50 before Haynes departed for 30.

Run machine Alex Blackwell joined Redmayne and the pair added another 70 before the opener fell for 37. But when Blackwell was dismissed for 42 with the scored on 140, Universities lost 7-26 to be all out for 166 in 46.2 overs. Ashleigh Gardner was the chief destroyer with 5-23, while former Universities player Erin Burns chipped in with 2-35.

Universities captain Blackwell was chasing a fourth title for the season having led NSW to the national limited overs and Twenty20 titles and Universities to the Sydney Twenty20 club title.

During a busy representative season she still managed eight innings for Universities and rattled up 431 runs at an average of 86.1. Despite missing out on the fourth title, that’s one solid season.

While the senior grade ponders on what might have been, Universities Under 17 Brewer Shield team is celebrating the 2014-15 title.

In a low-scoring 40-over final at Blacktown International Sports Park, Universities were bowled out for 149 off 35.4 overs, but responded well to restrict Campbelltown-Camden to 9-129 off 40 overs.

Opener Serena Liu top-scored for Universities with 33, with Olivia Porter (26) and Sarah Turner (21) helping the scoreboard along against some tight bowling. Sophie Heath (3-33) and Haylee Hoffmeister (2-8) were the chief wicket-takers for Campbelltown-Camden.

Universities employed eight bowlers in restricting the westerners to be 20 runs shy after their allotted overs.

Opener Tahlia Wilson batted through the innings to remain 60 not out, while Nell Gibson (3-11), Sarah Turner (1-9), Zoe Benjamin (1-10), Jade Christie (1-13) and Dharshia Srivinas (1-21) kept scoring to a minimum while picking up wickets at regular intervals.



Sydney Women’s Grade Cricket competition – Grand Final (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Bankstown 8-202 off 50 overs (Corinne Hall 37, Laura Wright 30, Ashleigh Gardner 29, Carly Ryan 28; Kate Owen 3-36, Lynsey Askew 2-25) d Universities 166 off 46.2 overs (Alex Blackwell 42, Georgie Redmayne 37, Rachael Haynes 30; Ashleigh Gardner 5-23, Erin Burns 2-35) by 36 runs at North Sydney Oval on Sunday. Toss: Bankstown. Batted first: Bankstown. Limited Overs premiers for 2014-15: Bankstown.

Brewer Shield (Under 17) – Grand Final

Universities 149 off 35.4 overs (Serena Liu 33, Olivia Porter 26, Sarah Turner 21; Sophie Heath 3-33, Haylee Hoffmeister 2-8) d Campbelltown-Camden 9-129 off 40 overs (Tahlia Wilson 60 not out, Maeghan Robinson 18; Nell Gibson 3-11, Sarah Turner 1-9, Zoe Benjamin 1-10) by 20 runs at Blacktown International Sports Park No.2 Oval on Sunday. Toss: Campbelltown-Camden. Batted first: Universities.


Sydney Men’s Grade Cricket competition – Qualifying Final

First Grade: Manly-Warringah 4-176 off 62 overs (Adam Crosthwaighte 82, Stephen O’Keefe 32 not out, Ahillen Beadle 25; Greg Mail 1-18, Dugald Holloway 1-32) d Sydney University 173 off 68.5 overs (Ryan Carters 34, Tim Ley 32, Mark Faraday 26, Scott Henry 22, Greg Mail 22; Nick McLachlin 5-28, Stephen O’Keefe 2-20) by six wickets at Manly Oval. Toss: Manly-Warringah. Batted first: Sydney University.

Second Grade: Sydney University 156 off 53.2 overs (Jack Hill 51, Will Hay 35; Peter Spurr 5-32, Aaron Gater 3-29) and 8-213 off 66 overs (Adam Theobald 68, Tom Kierath 44 not out, James Larkin 33, Jack Hill 25; Peter Spurr 2-25, Sanjay Parasher 2-43) d Blacktown 69 off 31.4 overs (Mitchell Carruthers 19, Aaron Gater 17 not out; Jim Ryan 6-16, Ben Joy 3-29) by 86 runs at Sydney University No.1 Oval at the weekend. Toss: Blacktown. Batted first: Sydney University.

Third Grade: Sydney University 78 off 54.2 overs (Ben Larkin 20, Jack Holloway 19, Nicholas Arnold 19; Jack Playfair 5-31, Matthew Sarkies 4-16) and 4-96 off 44.3 overs (Jack Maddocks 32 not out, Jack Holloway 20; Angus Palmer 1-22) d Eastern Suburbs 68 off 44.3 overs (Brenton Barker 26; Henry Clark 3-7, Lewis McMahon 3-14, Kieran Tate 2-23) and 105 off 31.5 overs (Oliver Maxwell 25, Jack Redmond 19; Ash Cowan 6-21) outright at Waverley Oval at the weekend. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Eastern Suburbs.

Fourth Grade: Sydney 177 off 97.4 overs (Craig Di Blasio 41, Jack Crace 41, Matt Kent 28, Dominic Tonkin 23; Jonathon Craig Dobson 4-20, Hayden Kerr 4-33) and 7-49 off 21.1 overs (Jack Crace 18; Brodie Frost 5-23) d Sydney University 71 off 30.2 overs (Jonathon Craig Dobson 24 not out, Alasdair Grant 19; Alex Rashleigh 4-13, Jake Berry 3-14, Stephen King 3-42) and 154 off 35.3 overs  (Matt Lowen 39, Suda Sivapalan 22; Craig Di Blasio 4-59, Charles Booth 3-35) outright at Drummoyne Oval at the weekend. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney.

Metropolitan Cup competition – Semi-Final

Sydney University 525 off 148 overs (Lachlan Carfax 151, Kobe Carroll 105, Hugh Kermond 67, Joseph Dorph 66, Cameron New 52; Shubham Kaushik 4-54, David Smith 4-119) d Blacktown 173 off 45.4 overs (Akhil Parvetharneni 39, Tristen Smith 21; Shehan Canagasingham 6-55, Chris de Krester 3-26) on the first innings at St Andrew’s College Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.

In the other semi-final, Penrith 8-237 d UNSW 111 at Jim Hanshaw Oval.

Final: Defending premiers Sydney University v Penrith on March 28-29 (venue TBA).