Tim Ley kept Sydney University’s faint qualifying finals chances alive with a match-winning performance against Blacktown at Joe McAleer Oval at the weekend.

Ley collected 4-51 in helping to dismiss the hosts for 191, and then top-scored with an unbeaten 45 as the Students finished with a nail-biting 8-194 to collect first innings points.

The win moved Sydney University to ninth on the ladder with two rounds of the competition proper remaining.

Manly-Warringah head the competition on 68 points, with Bankstown (52), Eastern Suburbs (45), Randwick-Petersham (42), Mosman (42) and Sutherland (42) making up a congested top six.

Penrith (41), St George (37) and Sydney University (36) are in “must-win” territory with eyes on other results.

The final two rounds are limited overs matches, with defending premiers Sydney University taking Western Suburbs at University No.1 Oval this Saturday and Penrith at Howell Oval on March 14.

The qualifying finals will be played in March 21-22, the semi-finals on March 28-29 and the final on April 4, 5 and 6.

Sydney University Second Grade have the minor premiership wrapped up on their way to a title defence.

Seconds are perched on 70 points, with Northern District (53), Manly-Warringah (49), Hawkesbury (46), Bankstown (42) and Eastern Suburbs (42) making up the top six.

Sydney University Third Grade are also in “must win” territory, sitting seventh on the ladder, just one point behind sixth-placed Gordon.

Fourth Grade are sitting comfortably in second place behind competition leaders Manly-Warringah, while Fifth Grade are in 10th position, nine points adrift of the top six.

Having won five of the six games at the weekend, defending  champions Sydney University (1146 points) moved into second place on the Club Championship which is headed by Manly-Warringah on 1387 points. This coveted award is going down to the wire.


Sydney Men’s Grade Cricket competition – Round 13 (Two-day match)

First Grade: Sydney University 8-194 off 63.1 overs (Tim Ley 45 not out, Liam Robertson 37, Greg Mail 36, Nick Larkin 23; Tony Clark 3-51, Simon Keen 2-22) d Blacktown 191 off 53 overs (Mitchell Hinds 80 not out, Nathan Hinton 25, Simon Keen 20, Cameron Nupier 20; Tim Ley 4-51, Liam Robertson 3-11, Dugald Holloway 2-21) on the first innings at Joe McAleer Oval. Toss: Blacktown. Batted first: Blacktown. Points: Sydney University 6, Blacktown 0.

Lower grades (Limited overs matches)

Second Grade: Sydney University 8-172 off 49 overs (Steven Hobson 40, Josh Toyer 33, Ben Trevor-Jones 29, Adam Theobald 22; Daniel Nicotra 2-29, Peter Spurr 2-30) d Blacktown 87 off 28.3 overs (Grant Crompton 23; Ben Joy 5-25, Josh Toyer 2-22, Jim Ryan 2-27) by 85 runs, with a bonus point, at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 7, Blacktown 0.

Third Grade: Match abandoned at Jim Hanshaw Oval due to inclement weather.

Fourth Grade:  Sydney University 5-104 off 26.1 overs (Nicholas Powys 20 not out, Jack Holloway 19) d Blacktown 103 off 43.4 overs (Ryan Clark 25, Blain Rees-Patrick 23) by five wickets at  St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Blacktown. Points: Sydney University 6, Blacktown 0.

Fifth Grade: Blacktown 7-130 (Matt Brinnand 24, Zulfiqar Salahuddin 21, Harmandeep Singh 20) d Sydney University 115 (Edward Lewis 32, Jarrod Waterlow 17; Matt Brinnand 3-21, Harmandeep Singh 2-10, Alan Day 2-15) by 15 runs at Whalan No.2 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Blacktown. Points: Blacktown 6, Sydney University 0.

Metropolitan Cup – Round 13 (Limited overs)

Sydney University 3-108 off 28.2 overs (Anthony Johnston 33, Cameron New 26) d UNSW 106 off 38.4 overs (no details available) by seven wickets at David Phillips North Oval. Toss: UNSW. Batted first: UNSW. Points: Sydney University 6, UNSW 0.

Sydney Women’s Grade Cricket competition – Round 8 (Limited Overs)

First Grade: Universities 0-88 off 13.1 overs (Georgie Redmayne 44 not out, Kate Owen 29 not out) d Penrith 87 off 30.2 overs (Amy Edgar 27; Kate Owen 4-32, Rachel Haynes 2-5, Melissa Norup 2-17) by 10 wickets at the Village Green. Toss: Penrith. Batted first: Penrith. Points: Universities 6, Penrith 0.

Second Grade: Northern District 7-225 off 50 overs (no details available) d Universities 57 off 25 overs (no details available) by 168 runs at David Phillips North Oval. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Northern District. Points: Northern District 6, Universities 0.

Brewer Shield Round 4 (Twenty20)

Universities 4-124 off 20 overs (Serena Liu 30 ret, Claudia Johnston 22, Jade Christie 20; Nicola Briody 1-7, Lauren Lowe 1-11) d Bankstown 5-106 off 20 overs (Kristeen Chattree 31 ret, Madeline 31 ret, Kate Barry 26; Keiko Grantham 2-11, Dharshia Srivinas 1-3) by 18 runs at Grahame Thomas Oval. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Universities. Points: Universities 6, Bankstown 0.