David Hickey was named Sydney University Football Club’s Best and Fairest player for 2014 at the annual presentation of awards last week.

The tireless flanker enjoyed a strong season on the side of the scrum and was competitive to the end when Sydney University dipped out in a nail-biting final against Southern District.

A penalty goal from the sideline, after the final bell, ended Sydney University’s decade of dominance in Sydney’s premier rugby union competition, the Shute Shield.

Southern Districts five-eighth Ben Volavola elected to take the shot, into a breeze, when University were penalised 30m out with seconds to play in the semi-final to determine who would meet Eastwood in the grand final.

It was a brave decision. While Volavola didn’t look missing when he landed a conversion and three penalty goals with his first four kicks in the first half, he missed a conversion and three penalty goal attempts from easier positions each side of halftime. He then landed a penalty from under the posts with 12 minutes to play before becoming the hero of the day with his after-the-bell effort to end the day with six from 10 attempts.

Defending premiers Sydney University looked to be heading for a 10th consecutive grand final appearance when they clawed their way to a 25-24 lead with 10 minutes remaining, but Southern Districts had other ideas.

Sydney University fielded teams in six of the seven grand finals and came away with four premierships, the Colts Club Championship and the coveted Club Championship.

While Hickey earned the major award, winger James Dargaville was awarded the Michael Griffin Cup for Players Player for 2014.

Other awards were:

First Grade

Best and Fairest: David Hickey

Best Back: Tom Carter

Best Forward: Tom Boidin

Leading Pointscorer: Daniel Kelly (139 points)

Leading Tryscorer: James Dargaville (19 tries)

Second Grade:

Best Forward: Byron Hodge

Best Back: Jack Macklin

Third Grade:

Best Forward: Jack Jones

Best Back: David Fong

Fourth Grade:

Best Forward: Nick Lyall

Best Back: Kodie Drury-Hawkins & Rhys Griffiths


Encouragement Awards

Colts Encouragement Award: Alexander Jackman

Craig Fear Encouragement Award: Hugh Frazer


First Colts Awards

Best and Fairest: Ben Hughes

Best Forward: Matthew Sandell

Best Back: Matthew Hood

Best Fresher: Christian Yassmin

Second Colts Awards

Best Forward: Byron Wicken

Best Back: Dylan Viera

ThirdColts Awards

Best Forward: Ben Martin

Best Back: Alexander Jackman & Edward L’Estrange


Achievement Awards

Most Improved (Grade): Henry Clunies-Ross

Most Improved (Colts): Jack Leger-Ryan

Most Promising Colt: Matthew Sandell

1st Colts XV Best Fresher: Christian Yassmin

Leading Try Scorer for the Club: Christian Yassmin (32 tries)

Leading Points Scorer for the Club: Christian Kagiassis (202 points)

Player of the Finals: James Dargaville


Major Club Awards

Club Captain: Dane McCarthy

Colts Clubman of the Year: Stewart Nutt

Clubman of the Year: Jack Macklin

Stephen Rowntree Volunteer of the Year: Ed Walgien