Students into Second and Third grade finals

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Students into Second and Third grade finals

Sydney University Cricket Club’s Second and Third grades moved through to the finals of their respective Sydney Grade competitions with solid wins in their semi-finals at the weekend.

Second Grade accounted for St George outright at North Sydney Oval. Having won the toss and given St George first use of the wicket, Sydney University’s bowlers rolled up their sleeves and dismissed the Saints for 83, with Nigel Cowell (4-23), Alasdair Grant (2-13) and Kerrod McPherson (2-22) the main destroyers.

The Students then rattled up 283, thanks to big contributions from Ben Larkin (73), Tom Kierath (53), Will Hay (45) and Liam Robertson (42), before rolling St George for 183, with Tom Kierath (4-32), Jonte Pattison (4-61) and Nigel Cowell (2-32) sharing the spoils.

The win put Sydney University Seconds into contention for back-to-back Abert Cups. They’ll meet Parramatta in a three-day final at Blacktown International Sports Park No.1 Oval on April 5, 6 and 7, with 10am starts on Friday and Saturday and a 9am start on Sunday.

Parramatta earned a finals berth with a first innings win over Bankstown at Bankstown Memorial Oval.

Meanwhile, having scored 106 in the qualifying semi-final, Sydney University’s Steven Hobson backed up with 133 to help Third Grade to a first innings win over Sutherland in their semi-final at Glenn McGrath Oval at the weekend.

Sutherland won the toss, elected to bat and posted a very competitive first innings total of 294, thanks to big contributions from Adam Whatley (63), Joshua Zywietz (52), Grant Davies (47), Liam Casey (38) and Peter Saroukas (32). Henry Clark (3-42) and Peter Murray (3-50) were the pick of the University trundlers.

The Students lost six wickets chasing down the target, with Hobson and opener Ed Arnott (59 following his 58 in the qualifying final) putting on a 149-run first wicket stand to provide the backbone to the innings.

It was Hobson’s fourth century for SUCC since he made his debut for the club in Round 4 of the 2011-12 season with a knock of 240.

Sydney University Thirds will meet Gordon in a two-day final of the Mitchell Cup at Sydney University No.1 Oval on April 6 and 7, with a 10am start on Saturday and a 9am start on Sunday.


Sydney Men’s Grade competition – Semi-finals (Two-day matches)

Second Grade: Sydney University 283 (|Ben Larkin 73, Tom Kierath 53, Will Hay 45, Liam Robertson 42; Shaun Cahill 3-23, Michael Holmes 2-67) d St George 83 (Luke Stanton 25 not out; Nigel Cowell 4-23, Alasdair Grant 2-13, Kerrod McPherson 2-22) and 183 (Damian Bourke 66, Andrew Walsh 26, Mitchell 25 not out; Tom Kierath 4-32, Jonte Pattison 4-61, Nigel Cowell 2-32) outright by an innings and 17 runs at North Sydney Oval.  Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: St George. Other semi-final result: Parramatta 271 d Bankstown 162 at Bankstown Memorial Oval. Final: Sydney University v Parramatta at Blacktown International Sports Park No.1 on Friday, April 5 (10am start), April 6 (10am start) and April 7 (9am start).

Third Grade: Sydney University 6-295 (Steven Hobson 133, Ed Arnott 59, Robert Edwards 37 not out; Trent Smith 2-45) d Sutherland 294 (Adam Whatley 63, Joshua Zywietz 52, Grant Davies 47, Liam Casey 38, Peter Saroukas 32;  Henry Clark 3-42, Peter Murray 3-50, Christopher Campbell 2-70) on the first innings at Glenn McGrath Oval. Toss: Sutherland. Batted first: Sutherland. Other semi-final result: Gordon 6-176 d Bankstown 133. Final: Sydney University v Gordon at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Saturday, April 6 (10am start) and April 7 (9am start).