Bombers take out a second consecutive 9’s competition

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Bombers take out a second consecutive 9’s competition

The Sydney Uni Women’s AFL team kicked off their 2013 season in emphatic fashion by winning the AFL’s 9′s competition. 

Sydney University – last year’s defending champions – were intent on retaining the title and impressing their new coach, Yucel Celenk. 

Undefeated after their first four round games at Centennial Park, the Sydney Uni Bombers defeated their semi-final opponents – the Auburn Tigers – before turning their attention to a second consecutive grand final.

It proved to be much the same for Sydney Uni in the Grand Final as they easily accounted for last year’s runners up, the Wollongong Saints, winning 73-39. 

The full Sydney Uni women’s 9’s team was Belinda Michalk, Ashlee Morgan, Sophie Clarke, Katrina Byrne, Jen Lew, Alex Roberts, Flick Tong, Kate Rowdy Lancaster, Emily Do, Megan Edwards, Beth Watts, Una McKay.

Sydney Uni will now turn their attention to their Sydney Women’s AFL round one clash against the Balmain Dockers on Saturday April 13 at 3pm at Mahoney Park, Marrickville.