Bankstown Sports Women’s Cricket Club thwarted Universities from collecting the 2012-13 season double when they won a low-scoring Limited Overs final at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Sunday.

Universities, formed in 2003 with the amalgamation of the Sydney University UNSW women’s cricket clubs, already held the Sydney First Grade Twenty20 title and were minor premiers in the Limited Overs competition.

But their aspirations of an inaugural Limited Overs title hit an early hurdle when Bankstown won the toss, sent Universities in and had their Australian representatives Alex Blackwell and Rachael Haynes back in the sheds with just 10 runs on the board.

Universities No.3 Kara Sutherland steadied the ship with a solid 51, while the middle order of Sara Sutherland (17), Georgia Redmayne (16) and Alison Parkin (16) all made promising starts as the Students slumped to be all out for 164. Sara Aley (3-21) and Sharon Millanta (2-29) were the chief wicket-takers.

Aley then topscored for the visitors with 51, while Carly Ryan (32) and Corinne Hall (25) helped chase down the total and the title in 38.5 overs. Haynes (3-7) and Maisy Gibson (2-41) earned the bowling honours for Universities.

The Limited Overs title was the final piece in the 2012-13 season jigsaw for Blackwell and Haynes. They were members of the Australian Southern Stars, who won the ICC 50-over Women’s World Cup in February and the ICC Twenty20 World Cup in September 2012; members of the NSW side that won an eighth consecutive Australian title (Limited Overs) and the National Twenty20 crown during the season, and part of the Universities Twenty20 final.


Sydney Women’s Grade competition – Final (Limited Overs)

Bankstown 7-165 off 38.5 overs  (Sarah Aley 51, Carly Ryan 32, Corinne Hall 25; Rachel Haynes 3-7,  Maisy Gibson 2-41) d Universities 164 off 50 overs (Kara Sutherland 51, Sara Sutherland 17, Georgia Redmayne 16, Alison Parkin 16; Sara Aley 3-21, Sharon Millanta 2-29) by three wickets at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Bankstown. Batted first: Universities. Premiers 2012-13 season: Bankstown.

Sydney Men’s Grade competition – Qualifying finals (Two-day matches)

Second Grade: Sydney University 7(dec)-288 (Jack Hill 101, Joshua Richards 77, Liam Robertson 36; Scott Copperfield 2-43, Anthony Child 2-63) d Parramatta 95 (Luke McNaught 19, Richard Potter 19  not out, Raza Rizwan 16; Kerrod McPherson 5-17, Nigel Cowell 4-33) on the first innings at Old Kings Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Other Qualifying Finals results: Bankstown 178 and 0-90 d Randwick-Petersham 104; and St George 191 d Sydney 74 and 196.

Third Grade: Sydney University 5(dec)-253 (Steven Hobson 106, Ed Arnott 58, Darius Visser 49 not out, Ash Cowan 38, Alasdair Grant 32 not out, Robert Edwards 31, Alex Logan 23; Ethan Leten 4-55) d Bankstown 252 (Ethan Leten 80, Mark Morley 46, James Bourne 36; Brendan Pryke 4-41) on the first innings at Jensen Park. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Other Qualifying Finals results: Gordon 232 d Hawkesbury 65; and Sutherland 228 d North Sydney 111.