Sydney University made it two from two in the Sydney Grade cricket Limited Overs competition with a seven-wicket win over Sydney at Drummoyne Oval on Saturday.

Nick Larkin top scored with 60, Adam Theobald maintained his healthy scoring streak with 58 and Greg Mail chimed in with an unbeaten 44 as the Students posted 3-198 off 45.2 overs in reply to Sydney’s 9-197 off 50 overs.

Sydney won the toss and batted in the best of the day’s ever-changing weather conditions. Manjot Singh (60) and Daniel Smith (50) were the main contributors to the scoreboard, while Ben Joy (3-41), Tim Ley (2-36) and Tom Kierath (1-21) helped keep the score below 200.

Sydney won the Second, Third and Fourth grades, while the Fifth Grade clash at St Paul’s College Oval ended in a tie, with both teams scoring 192 – Sydney University off 47.2 overs and Sydney off 47.1.

It wasn’t the only tie of the weekend – the women’s First Grade Twenty20 match between Universities and Campbelltown-Camden at University Oval saw the hosts post 6-89 off their allotted overs before bowling out the visitors for the same score.

Meanwhile, Sydney University opener Scott Henry made his presence felt in a match between the Australian Chairman’s XI and Sri Lanka at Manuka Oval in Canberra last week.

Henry cracked 207 not out in the Chairman’s XI tally of 439, with the visitors replying with 6-396, thanks to an unbeaten 101 from Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Henry, an SUSF Elite Athlete Program (EAP) scholarship holder, went to stumps at the end of day one with 172 beside his name and made short work of bringing up his double century the next morning, finishing with 28 boundaries and two sixes.

The 23-year-old left-hander offered only one chance – a difficult one on the boundary which slipped through the fieldsman’s fingers and tumbled over the rope for one of his fours.

Henry has kept his name in front of the selectors this season with 122 for NSW Second XI against Western Australia and four Sheffield Shield half centuries for NSW.


Sydney Men’s Grade competition – Round 7 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Sydney University 3-198 off 45.2 overs (Nick Larkin 60, Adam Theobald 58, Greg Mail 44 not out; Angus Moncrief 1-21) d Sydney 9-197 off 50 overs (Manjot Singh 60, Daniel Smith 50; Ben Joy 3-41, Tim Ley 2-36, Tom Kierath 1-21, Will Somerville 1-32) by seven wickets at Drummoyne Oval. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney. Points: Sydney University 6, Sydney 0.

Second Grade: Sydney 4-208 off 43.4 overs (Joel James 58 not out, Michael Polson 50 not out, Ben Elvidge 38; Nigel Cowell 2-27) d Sydney University 9-205 off 50 overs (Jack Hill 79, Darius Visser 58; Tom Ortiz 4-34, Matt White 3-27, Stephen King 2-25) by six wickets at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney 6, Sydney University 0.

Third Grade: Sydney 6-220 off 50 overs (Thomas Matson 69, Paul Donovan 48, Nick Govers 38 not out, Justin Mosca 26; Michael Culkoff 1-20) d Sydney University 218 off 43.9 overs (Alex Logan 89, Stuart McLean 32, James Larkin 27; Andrew Hoppett 3-36, Andrew McMurray 2-25) by two runs at Birchgrove Park. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney. Points: Sydney 6, Sydney University 0.

Fourth Grade: Sydney 9-251 off 50 overs (Matthew Pasternatsky 101, Richard Colbran 58) d Sydney University 236 off 45 overs (no details) by 15 runs at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney. Points: Sydney 6, Sydney University 0.

Fifth Grade: Sydney University 192 off 47.2 overs (Timothy Croft 45 not out, Michael Harris 32, Joshua Toyer 28, Joe Dorph 27; Ryan Bulger 3-28, Simon Nosworthy 2-25) tied with Sydney 192 off 47.1 overs (Christopher Hulston 73 not out, Dipin Sohdi 45; Timothy Croft 2-24, Jim Ryan 2-36, Jarrod Waterlow 2-36) at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 3, Sydney 3.

Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 5 (Limited overs)

Sutherland 3-129 off 22.3 overs (Nathan Loder 55, Duncan Maddinson 29, Kerrod White 25 not out; Brendan Pryke 3-35) d Sydney University 128 off 35.5 overs (Brendan Pryke 29, Jack Hill 22, Darius Visser 21; Kerrod White 3-41, Trent Smith 2-9, Jamie Brown 2-24) by seven wickets, with one bonus point, at Glenn McGrath Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sutherland 7, Sydney University 0.

Sydney Women’s Grade competition Round 11 (Twenty20 matches)

First Grade:  Universities 6-89 off 20 overs (Emily Mifsud 21, Rachel Li 15 not out; Celeste Raack 3-9) tied with Campbelltown-Camden 89 (Clare Koski 31, Kate Waetford 24; Emily Mifsud 4-11, Maisy Gibson 3-17) at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Universities. Points: Universities 3, Campbelltown-Camden 3.

Second Grade: Universities 2-39 (Katherine Wong 12 not out, Suma Katti 10) d Penrith 38 ((Bernice Harpley 4-15).

Sydney University 7-39 (Katherine Wong 12; Emma Felsch 1-6, Sarah Stephenson 1-12) d Penrith 38 (Madison McCooey 12 not out; Bernice Harpley 4-12, Rachel Li 1-3).

Brewer Shield – Round 2 (40-over matches)

Gordon 6-209 (Saskia Horley 52 retired,  Phoebe Thompson 33 not out, Katie O’Sullivan 30, Emily Sidgreaves 28; Amy McKay 2-17) d Universities 9-171 off 40 overs (Clara Iemma 54 not out, Grace Puckett 26; Katie O’Sullivan 3-4) at Killara Oval. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Universities. Points: Gordon 6, Universities 0.