Scoreboard is a wrap-up of the efforts of Sydney University athletes and teams through the past week, compiled by Graham Croker. Stories on some of the performances also appear in the News section.

Rugby Union

Sydney Grade competition – Grand Finals

First Grade – Shute Shield: Sydney University 15 (Nathan Charles, Angus Roberts tries; Angus Roberts goal, pen goal) d Southern Districts 14 (Nic Cummins try; Ben Volavola 3 pen goals) at Concord Oval.

Second Grade – Colin Caird Shield: Sydney University 45 (Dane McCarthy 2, Nathan Trist 2, Dave Dillon, Jack De Guingand tries; David Fong 6 goals, pen goal) d West Harbour 28 (Joe Tuvitu 2, Will Hannam, Graeme Kolomalu tries; Kiwi Kapene-Eleher goal, 2 pen goals).

Third Grade – Henderson Shield: Sydney University 27 (Mark O’Dare 2, Harry Marples, John Rudd, Zubayr Abrahams tries; Jack Macklin goal) d Manly 19 (John Wunder try; Marty McNamara goal, 4 pen goals).

Fourth Grade – Henderson Cup: Northern Suburbs 20 d Manly 0.

Fifth Grade – Grand Final: Sydney University 29 d Northern Suburbs 10 at Sydney University.

Sydney Women’s grade competition – Grand Final

First Grade: Warringah 7 d Sydney University 3 at Granville Rugby Park.

Colts – Grand Finals

First Grade – W. McMahon Memorial Shield:  Sydney University 27 (Tim Reid, Sam Quinn, James Nonu-Carling, James Dargaville tries; Jonathon Vaux 2 goals, pen goal) d Northern Suburbs 15 (Max Jones, Jack Cameron tries; Jack Grant goal, pen goal) at Forshaw Park.

Second Grade – Shell Trophy: Sydney University 41 (Jack O’Connor 3, Finlay McDonald, Richard Draper, Tom Shaw tries; C Mason 4 goals, pen goal) d Eastwood 7 (Matt Parkinson try; Daniel Be Santis goal).

Third Grade: Randwick 17 (Sam Tooth, Cameron Terry, Tom Windeatt tries; S Tooth goal) d Sydney University 5 (George Hudd try).

Club Championship 2012 – Gregor George Trophy: Sydney University.

Colts Club Championship 2012 – Eric Spilstead Trophy: Sydney University.


Australian Football

Sydney AFL – Finals

Division Five Grand Final: Sydney University 10.6: 66 (Gordon Willis 5, James Hunt, Jack Hollywood, Christopher Reid, Patrick Hunter, Will Bannon) d UTS 9.7: 61 (Ryan Armstrong 3, James Kruss 2, Nicholas McInerney 2, Jonathon Bocking, Rory Freeborn) at Blacktown International Sportspark.

Best players:

Sydney University: Gordon Willis, Michael Abbey, Jarrad Carraso, Nigel Tao, Jack Hollywood, James Hunt.

UTS: Nicholas McInerney, Daniel Cutlack, Jonathan Bocking, Ryan Armstrong, Troy Ottens, Stuart Henderson.

Division One Under 18 Preliminary Final: Illawarra 13.14: 92 (Benjamin Hoctor 4, James Lavender 4, Joshua Roebuck 2, Benjamin Forst 2, Harry Dobson) d Sydney University 11.8: 74 (Richard Hall 3, Jack Hiscox 2, James Webster, Daniel Risby, Matthew Powys, Fredrik Skulley, Jethro Braico, Yarran Jaffer) at Blacktown International Sporspark.

Best players:

Ilawarra: Joel Sutherland, Harry Dobson, Shane Potter, James Lavender, Ryan Hamilton, Benjamin Forst, Kuiam Anu.

Sydney University: Jack Hiscox, Yarran Jaffer, Alex O’Dea, Jethro Braico, Fredrik Skulley, Matthew Powys.



NSW Men’s Super League – Grand Finals

Under 20: Sydney University 4 d Spirit FC 1 at Jensen Park.

Under 18: Sydney University 1 d Northern Tigers 0 at Sydney United Sports Centre.

Under 16: Sydney University 4 d Central Coast Mariners Academy 2 on penalties.

Under 15: Central Coast Mariners Academy 2 d Sydney University 1.

Under 14: Central Coast Mariners Academy 5 d Sydney University 1.

Under 13: Sydney University 2 d Dulwich Hill SC 0.

NSW Women’s Premier League – Grand Finals

Reserve Grade: Marconi Stallions 1 d Sydney University 0 at Blacktown Football Park.

Under 12: Marconi Stallions 1 d Sydney University 0.



Sydney Women’s League – Semi-Finals

Metro League 1 – Major semi-final: Sydney University (1) 3 d Gordon North Shore (1) 1 on the Olympic Pitch.

Minor semi-final: Briars 2 d Moorebank 1.

Preliminary Final:   Briars 3 d Gordon North Shore 0.

Final: Sydney University v Briars on Olympic Pitch, 9am, September 23.

Sydney Men’s Premier League – Grand Final

Grade 2: Sydney University 2 d Briars 0.



One-Day Cup – Round 1

NSW 5-281 off 50 overs (opener Scott Henry SUCC 66 off 105 balls) d Western Australia 255 off 49.5 overs at the WACA Ground.