4 of the best named in Australian women’s cricket team

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. 4 of the best named in Australian women’s cricket team

Four Universities Women’s Cricket Club (Universities WCC) representatives have been named in the preliminary 30-player women’s squad for the ICC Twenty20 World Cup to be played in Sri Lanka during September and October.

Alex Blackwell, Rachael Haynes, Kara Sutherland and Erin Burns have all been named in the squad. Sutherland and Burns are both SUSF Elite Athlete Program (EAP) scholarship holders.

“It’s a credit to the Universities Women’s Cricket Club to have four of its players picked in the Australian squad; it shows just how far the Club has come in the last few years,” said Universities WCC Honorary Secretary David Mifsud.

Australia are the defending champions and Blackwell (Australian Vice Captain) and Haynes are expected to have big roles to play in defending the World Cup.

This will be one of the busiest cricketing summers for a long time for the women. They start with a tour of Sri Lanka in August as part of our preparations for the ICCT20 World Cup.

After that the players are back home to play in the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL), where the NSW Breakers Captain Alex Blackwell is looking to extend their reign as premiers to eight years straight.

In addition to this, the players will be backing up each week as they attempt to win a premiership with Universities WCC, before heading back to India in March for the ICC ODI World Cup.

Anyone interested in playing women’s cricket this summer should contact the club at [email protected]  as the club is taking registrations for females of all ages (8yo to adult) and abilities.