University to honour 3 of its greats

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. University to honour 3 of its greats

Round two of the Shute Shield kicks off this Saturday, with the 12 team competition split into a Top 6 / Bottom 6 competition for the next five rounds (based on the Club Championship ladder).

Sydney University have led the Club Championship from day one of the 2012 competition and this weekend take on local rivals Eastern Suburbs at University No. 1 Oval.

A big weekend is planned at the historic birthplace of Australian Rugby, with Sydney University honouring the legacy of Chris O’Brien, in the Club’s inaugural Chris O’Brien Lifehouse at RPA Charity Day.

“Chris O’Brien (a former SUFC player) was a man of leadership, vision and courage. He inspired people, both through his work as a cancer specialist and through his own personal battle”, said SUFC President, David Mortimer AO.

“Much like the Sydney University Football Club, Chris always strived for excellence and leading edge best practice. To me, our Club’s partnership with the Chris O’Brien Lifehouse at RPA is the perfect union”.

All SUFC teams will wear a touch of Lifehouse green, with lower Grade and Colts teams wearing green socks and 1st Grade wearingCharity Day warm up t-shirts and jerseys. The club has already raised over $1,600 from generous supporter and sponsor donations.

CLICK HERE to donate TODAY!! Donations as small as $2.00 are tax deductible and will all go direct to helping the Chris O’Brien Lifehouse at RPA engineer a future without cancer.

The day will also honour Club volunteer Bob McGovern who recently passed away from a long battle with prostate cancer, with all seven teams fundraising in his memory.

“Bob epitomised what it is to be a volunteer, he gave of his time selflessly and would do anything for his team. The players, staff and other volunteers at the Club have really missed Bob’s infectious enthusiasm, leadership and friendship, he will be truly missed around the Club,” said SUFC Club Captain James Swan.

The 1st Grade match will see the two sides playing for the David Brockhoff Cup, an inaugural cup set up to honour the University and Easts Legend. Sydney University were the inaugural winners of the David Brockhoff Cup in 2011, winning 23-19 in a heart stopping game at University No. 1 Oval.