3 named in NSW women’s cricket squad

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. 3 named in NSW women’s cricket squad

Three Universities Women’s Cricket Club (UWCC) representatives have been named in a powerful Lend Lease Breakers NSW women’s cricket squad for the 2012/13 season.

Alex Blackwell, Rachael Haynes (both senior Australian representatives) and Kara Sutherland (Australian Under 23 representative) are all part of the UWCC – a cricket club that combines Sydney University and the UNSW.

Blackwell is the current captain of the team as well as the Australian Vice Captain.

The Lend Lease Breakers are arguably one of the most successful sporting teams in Australia, having won 14 National League (50 over) titles in the last 16 years, including the last seven in a row.

In addition to gunning for an eighth straight National League crown and an elusive first WT20 title, players will also be desperate to earn their place in the Australian squad for the World T20 and World Cup tournaments, scheduled for either end of the Australian summer.

Last season, NSW dominated National selections with nine players in the senior Australian side, with a further seven picked in the Youth team.

The full 2012/13 squad is (clubs/regions in brackets):

Sarah Aley (Bankstown Sports)
Alex Blackwell (Universities/Riverina)
Nicola Carey (St George-Sutherland)
Sarah Coyte (Campbelltown-Camden)
Rachael Haynes (Universities)
Alyssa Healy (Sydney)
Claire Koski (Campbelltown-Camden)
Katie Mack (Northern District)
Sharon Millanta (Bankstown Sports)
Erin Osborne (St George-Sutherland/Central North)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney)
Leah Poulton (St George-Sutherland/Newcastle)
Angela Reakes (Sydney/North Coast)
Lisa Sthalekar (Gordon)
Kara Sutherland (Universities/North Coast)
Hannah Trollip (Gordon)
Keeghan Tucker (Campbelltown-Camden/Western)

Cricket NSW has also named an additional squad of 10 players to train as part of the Cricket NSW Academy, one of which was UWWC representative Alison Parkin.

This squad comprises the next level of up-and-coming talented players who have excelled either in Sydney Grade, the NSW Second XI or NSW U/18 programs.

The Cricket NSW Academy squad is (club region in brackets):

Mathilda Carmichael (Gordon)
Sohryn Carter (St George-Sutherland)
Heidi Cheadle (Gordon)
Kira Churchland (Sydney/Western)
Ashleigh James (Northern District/Central Coast)
Emily Leys (Gordon/Central North)
Kath Koschel (St George-Sutherland)
Alison Parkin (Universities)
Celeste Raack (Campbelltown-Camden)
Naomi Stalenberg (Campbelltown-Camden)