Sydney University’s 16-point win over Western Suburbs in their AFL Sydney Premier Division tussle at Picken Oval on Saturday came with a bonus, they also collected the Peter Ramus Cup.

The Cup was struck by SUAFC in 2008 to honour the four decades of service to the club by Peter “Branch” Ramus.

It was also in recognition of his association with the Western Suburbs Australian Football Club, where he was a former president of the junior club.

The perpetual trophy is awarded to the winner of the annual fixture between the Sydney University and Western Suburbs with each club hosting the Cup on alternate years.

Alexander Hawtin and Michael Figg each kicked two goals in Sydney University’s 8.16 (64 to 6.8 (48) round eight win.

UNSW-Eastern Suburbs head the Premier League ladder, with Pennant Hills, North Shore, Balmain, St George and UTS making up the top six.

Sydney University are ninth on the ladder ahead of last placed Western Suburbs and Campbelltown.

The Students will meet North Shore at Gore Hill Oval this Saturday.


Sydney Premier Division – Round 8

Premier Division: Sydney University 8.16: 64 (Alexander Hawtin 2, Michael Figg 2, Aron Everett, Max Carter, Alex Crowe, Ryan Kennedy) d Western Suburbs 6.8: 48 (Matthew Eurell 2, Scott Lear, Joshua Zoppo, James Newbury, Timothy Lambert) at Picken Oval.

Best players:

Sydney University: Alexander Hawtin, Dean McKay, Samuel Orton, Peter Casey, Ben Fitzpatrick, Ryan Kennedy.

Western Suburbs: Stephen Hudson, Lynn Roehrig, Timothy Lambert, Shane Aitchison, Rory Miller, David Green.

Division Two: Sydney University 7.10: 52 (Desmond Worrell 4, Rohan MacPherson, Daniel Miller, Thomas Aitken) d UNSW-Eastern Suburbs 7.8: 50 (Warren Swanson 3, Casey Stephens 2, Michael Appleford, Mark Dixon) at Sydney University No.1 Oval.

Division Three: Sydney University 17.19: 121 d Western Suburbs 1.4: 10 at Picken Oval. (Scores unavailable)

Division Five: Sydney University 14.10: 94 (Michael Gregory 5, Michael Murray 2, Brent Watkins 2, Bret Woods, Nigel Tao, Chris Murr , Matthew Watson, Nicholas Marquez) d Moorebank 2.8: 20 (Shaun Duggan, David McLeod) at Sydney University No.1 Oval.

Under 18 Division One: Sydney University 23.12: 150 (Richard Hall 5, Alex O’Dea 4, Daniel Risby 4, Jack Hiscox 3, Jethro Braico 3, Nathan Carter 2, Finnian Pauner, Jayden Donato) d Western Suburbs 2.1: 13 (Vasili Romanas, Michael Vitale) at Picken Oval.

Best Players:

Sydney University: Jack Hiscox, Richard Hall, Alex O’Dea, Jayden Donato, Jethro Braico, Daniel Risby

Western Suburbs: Kyle Venn, James Bamford, Benjamin Polley, Joshua Abfalter, Michael Vitale, James Bradley


Sydney Women’s competition – Round 7

First Grade: Sydney University 22.15: 147 (Mel Khoury 7, Meredith Gray 4, Katrina Byrne 3, Belinda Michalk 3, Sandra Janjetovic 2, Melita Morriss , Lara Creber , Unan McKay) d UTS Shamrocks 1.1: 7 (Leanne Mackenzie) at Sydney University No.1 Oval.

Best Players:

Sydney University: Katrina Byrne, Nicola Vrachnas, Ashlee Morgan, Una McKay, Sandra Janjetovic, Belinda Michalk

Shamrocks: Rebecca Dyson, Leanne Mackenzie, Sarah Bradley, Christine Mc Cutcheon, Danielle McCarthy, Suzanne Flaherty