2 EAP athletes named in Shooting Stars squad

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. 2 EAP athletes named in Shooting Stars squad

Sydney University Elite Athlete Program (EAP) scholarship holders Erin Burns and Kara Sutherland have been selected in the 15 player Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars squad (youth team) for season 2012-13.

Burns (M. Physiotherapy) and Sutherland (B. Applied Science (Exercise & Sport Science)), along with the other players in the squad, will participate in two camps, one to be held in July at the CA Centre of Excellence in Brisbane, and the other to be conducted in early September.

Commenting on the squad, Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) Chair Julie Savage said: “The Shooting Stars is an open age squad that comprises players who have shown good performances in state cricket or during the recent Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars tour to New Zealand.”

“Players on this list are considered to have the potential to move onto the contract list, or meet short-term depth deficiencies that may arise from time to time over a two-year time frame.

“The squad is a blend of seasoned performers and new talent.

The WNSP is looking forward to some of these players making the most of this opportunity with a view to playing in future Australian teams,” Julie Savage said.

The 2012-13 Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars squad is:

Jemma Barsby (QLD), Kristen Beams (VIC), Nicole Bolton (WA), Erin Burns (TAS), Nicola Carey (NSW), Renee Chappell (WA), Holly Ferling (QLD), Katelyn Fryett (TAS), Claire Koski (NSW), Beth Mooney (QLD), Angela Reakes (NSW), Megan Schutt (SA), Kara Sutherland (NSW), Gemma Triscari (WA), Keeghan Tucker (NSW)