Mail creates history at University Oval

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Mail creates history at University Oval

Sydney University opener Greg Mail became the leading run-scorer in the history of Sydney First Grade cricket on a day of mixed fortunes for the Students at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Sunday.

Mail surpassed Greg Hayne (12,354 runs) and set a new mark of 12,409 runs when scoring 67 in Sydney University’s 9-174 off 50 overs in their Limited Overs semi-final against Fairfield-Liverpool.

But the achievement was dulled somewhat when the visitors chased down the target to post 6-176 off 48.1 overs, denying Sydney University the chance to defend their 2010-11 title.

Mail now has 930 runs for the season and 37 wickets, making him the second player along with Grant Lambert (692 runs and 36 wickets) to post the all-rounders’ double of 30 wickets and 500 runs for the season.

And his 137 against Hawkesbury the previous weekend saw him join Warren Bardsley and Victor Trumper as the leading century-makers in Sydney First Grade cricket with 36.

Sydney University’s other great all-rounder Ian Moran has quietly moved to 9042 First Grade runs and 327 First Grade wickets,  becoming one of just seven players to have achieved the double of 9000 runs and 300 wickets.

While Sydney University bowed out of the Limited Overs competition after finishing competition proper as minor premiers, they are still well-placed in the two-day Belvidere Cup competition.

UNSW head the Belvidere Cup on 85 points, with Sydney University (71), North Sydney (68), Randwick-Petersham (64), Manly-Warringah (59) and Eastern Suburbs (55) making up the top six.

Sydney University knocked up 202 on Saturday and had Sydney 7-96 at stumps, putting them in a strong position to claim first innings – and maybe outright – points next Saturday.

Mail was on target to set the new all-time record when Sydney won the toss and sent the Students in at Sydney University No.1 Oval, but he fell 14 runs shy with 42. Nick Larkin (46) and Mark Faraday (39) helped Sydney University to their modest total, with Angus Montcrief taking the bowling  honours with 5-51.

Sydney’s Dominic Thornley (28), Tim Sparke (24) and Nathan Ball (21 not out) were the only shining lights as they struggled to 96, with Ian Moran collecting six scalps for a miserly 17.

Sydney University Seconds made an attacking declaration in the push for an outright, while Thirds, Fourths and Fifths are all in strong positions for first innings points. A clean-sweep next weekend would assist Sydney University’s push for the Club Championship, which is headed by Manly-Warringah (1413 points) ahead of Sutherland (1376) and Sydney University (1343).

Meanwhile, opener Rachel Haynes cracked 108 not out in Universities six-wicket win over Gordon in an entertaining Sydney Women’s Grade competition round 17 clash at Chatswood Oval on Sunday.

Haynes struck 11 boundaries in the 103-ball knock and was at the crease for 151 minutes as Universities rattled up 4-209 off 43 overs in reply to Gordon’s 8-208 off 50 overs.

Universities also won their Third Grade and Brewer Shield matches.


Sydney Men’s Limited Overs semi-final

First Grade: Fairfield-Liverpool 6-176 off 48.1 overs (Ben Roher 72, Jeremy Cashman 29 not out, Mitchell Williams 21; Greg Mail 3-21) d Sydney University 9-174 off 50 overs (Greg Mail 67, Mark Faraday 31, Nick Larkin 23; Christopher Whelan 3-45, Anthony Clark 2-19) by four wickets at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Sunday. Toss: Fairfield-Liverpool. Batted first: Sydney University. Fairfield-Liverpool advance to grand final against Randwick-Petersham at Coogee Oval on March 4.

Sydney Men’s Grade competition – Round 15 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Sydney University 202 (Nick Larkin 46, Greg Mail 42, Mark Faraday 39; Angus Moncrief 5-51, Tom Ortiz 3-44) v Sydney 7-96 (Dominic Thornley 28, Tim Sparke 24, Nathan Ball 21 not out; Ian Moran 6-17) stumps, day one, at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney University.

Second Grade: Sydney 97 (Dipin Sodhi 36; Josh Toyer 5-19, Michael Culkoff 3-14) and 2-21 v Sydney University 4(dec)-228 (Will Hay 69, Adam Theobald 53, Liam Robertson 36, Tom Kierath 24 not out, Ben Larkin 23) stumps, day one, at Drummoyne Oval. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney.

Third Grade: Sydney 137 (Joel James 31, Todd Hutcheson 30; Alasdair Grant 5-15, Kerrod McPherson 3-23) v Sydney University 1-55 (Matthew Gregory 29 not out) stumps, day one, at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney.

Fourth Grade: Sydney 199 (Matthew Pasternasky 62, Justin Mosca 36; Peter Murray 6-43, Stuart McLean 2-19) v Sydney University, stumps, day one, at Ryde Oval. Toss: Sydney. Batted first: Sydney.

Fifth Grade: Sydney University 9-220 (Matt Skinner 86, Alex Toomey 25Rowan Fessey 22, Timothy Croft 22 not out; Simon Nosworthy 2-32, Jock Wallace 2-60) stumps, day one, at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.

Metropolitan Cup – Round 15

Sydney University 162 v Western Suburbs 2-48, stumps, day one at Punchbowl Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.

Sydney Women’s Grade competition – Round 19 (Limited overs)

First Grade: Universities 4-209 off 43 overs (Rachel Haynes 108 not out, Erin Burns 29, Alex Blackwell 26; Hannah Perry 2-31) d Gordon 8-208 off 50 overs (Lisa Sthalekar 73, Mathilda Carmichael 46; Kate Owen 4-28, Kara Sutherland 2-18) by six wickets at Chatswood Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Gordon. Points: Universities 6, Gordon 0.

Third Grade: Universities 1-95 off 18.5 overs (Felicity Goodwin 55 ret, Sarah Mooney 16 not out) d Parramatta-Blacktown 91 off 38.2 overs (Sandy Cameron 37; Sara Mooney 3-8, Felicity Goodwin 3-19) by nine wickets at Bella Vista Oval. Toss: Universities. Batted first: Parramatta-Blacktown. Points: Universities 6, Parramatta-Blacktown 0.

Brewer Shield (40 overs)

Universities 6-164 off 40 overs (Clare Iemma 49, Rachel Li 18) d Gordon 128 off 35 overs (Victoria Saville 25, Saskia Horley 22; Olivia Toolin 2-21, Rachel Li 2-21, Grace Puckett 2-22) by 36 runs at Killara Oval. Toss: Gordon. Batted first: Universities. Points: Universities 6, Gordon 0.